Equipment: Reviewed

You are looking at: Home : Equipment: Reviewed

Powervescent golf club cleaner

'Even my battered putter took on the appearance of a rejuvenated wand. '

Posted: 12 October 2004
by Bob Warters

Powervescent golf club cleaner
Contact: www.golfclubcleaner.com
Technology: 5 powerful cleaning tablets.
Price: £5.95


Powervescent cleans club in 20 minutes – no fuss!

It’s chiefly at this time of year, when the ground is damp and muddy, that your clubs start to look weathered and worn. And when the grooves get clogged and the grips shiny there’s no way you’re going to play to your potential.

But this new product to the UK can take all the hard work out of club cleaning and return the look of your clubs to almost as good as new.

Last week I decided to give an old set of Wilson Fat Shafts an outing following a run of poor form. So disgusted had I been with their previous performance last spring that I’d tossed them in the garden shed, caked and somewhat dishevelled.

However, 20 minutes in a bucket of hot water, into which I’d sprinkled a Powervescent tablet and they emerged sparkling – even my battered putter took on the appearance of a rejuvenated wand.

Turned on their heads for a few minutes the grips emerged tacky and eager for the fray.

For your nearest stockist call 0208 854 2878

The Golfmagic Verdict
Rating: 9/10
Summary: A tad expensive for £5.95 for five tablets but as it says on the packet ‘it gives your clubs an extraordinary bath,’ from which they emerge ready for action.

*Tell us about the accessories in your bag - as well as the clubs, shoes, waterproofs – by submitting a user review

And if you’ve got equipment to buy or sell second hand you can do that too, in our popular classified section.


Previous article
Ram FX Fit glove
Next article
Callaway Golf Enjoyment System (GES) set

Discuss this story

Has anyone tried Cillit Bang ??? The crazy advert has got me thinking that I should try some on my golf clubs....Given the adverts maybe this is a cheaper alternative...

Or as before get your pressure washer on your clubs...That cleans the grooves.

Posted: 12/10/2004 at 14:56

I'm sure Kim & Aggie (from Ch4) would be able to offer a cheap alternative involving a bucket of hot soapy water laced with vinegar and bicarbonate of soda.

Or so I'm told....ahem......

Posted: 12/10/2004 at 15:07

Or steradent? Perhaps Bob could test this out and let us know the results?

Posted: 12/10/2004 at 15:15

G
If you want to clean them leave them in coke overnight.
If you want to clean anything silver,like old trophys that have sepia'd,
1,Boil a pan of water{big enough to dip your clubs ect.}.
2,Lob in some salt.
3,Lob in some comfort,fabric conditioner.
4,Lay in a small sheet of tin foil.

Dip your clubs or trophys or old knifes and forks,just dip and then rinse.
Presto,absolutely amazing.

Same process as tinning.
Cheap as chips.

Posted: 15/10/2004 at 14:42

Maybe we could have a domestic tips section on GM ?

Posted: 15/10/2004 at 16:32

I use a "club - tub"......works well and easier than a scrubbing brush...

Posted: 15/10/2004 at 17:16

warm soapy water in a bucket. Leave to stand for five/ten minutes.
scrub(not much effort-the soak has done it) and rinse.
Wipe over with WD40.

Note: you will have to wedge your big Titanium bat under the water, as they float.

Ian

Posted: 15/10/2004 at 17:20

Also make sure the water isn't too hot as the ferrel glue will become pliable ergo, loose ferrel until it cools back down.

Posted: 15/10/2004 at 17:28

G
How To Clean Your Toilet and your clubs - The Fun Way
Instructions on how to clean your toilet and your clubs



1. Put both lids of the toilet up and add 1/8 cup of pet shampoo to the water in the bowl.

2. Pick up the cat and soothe him while you carry him towards the bathroom.

3. In one smooth movement, put the cat in the toilet and close both lids. You may need to stand on the lid.

4. The cat will self agitate and make ample suds. Never mind the noises that come from the toilet, the cat is actually enjoying this.

5. Flush the toilet three or four times. This provides a "power-wash" and rinse".

6. Have someone open the front door of your home. Be sure that there are no people between the bathroom and the front door.

7. Stand behind the toilet as far as you can, and quickly lift both lids.

8. The cat will rocket out of the toilet, streak through the bathroom, and run outside where he will dry himself off.

9. Both the commode and the cat will be sparkling clean.

Sincerely,

The Dog

Posted: 15/10/2004 at 18:26

Gil Harding - LMFAO

Posted: 18/10/2004 at 00:40

G
see fjrowners.com in the playground thread for the pictures.Gilbo.It gets better.

Posted: 18/10/2004 at 09:19

Funny gil

Posted: 18/10/2004 at 22:07

Gil. I think you had better go into hiding my wife has just read your piece on how to clean the toilet and your clubs the fun way!

She a cat lover mate.

What I would like to know would it still work if you used a small dog!!

Posted: 21/10/2004 at 19:34

G
iF YOU SEND ME YOUR E MAIL ADRESS i'LL POST THE PICS THAT WENT WITH IT.

Posted: 21/10/2004 at 21:16

We'd love you to add a comment! Please take half a minute to register as a free member

Golfmagic on Twitter

Competitions

Golfmagic on Facebook

Become a GM member

Golfmagic Backspin NewsletterBecome a Golfmagic member today to receive our free weekly 'Backspin' newsletter. Site members also benefit from the ability to share their opinions in the forum, enter competitions and submit course and equipment reviews. So why not sign up to GM today?

Sign up
Back to top