Ten of the Best: Golf drivers 2013 review

What's the best golf driver this year? We test ten of the latest to help you get better

Posted 25 September 2013
by Andy Roberts

NEW! GOLF DRIVERS TEST 2014

In the second of a new monthly Club Test series, we review ten top-end golf drivers launched in 2013.

To keep the test fair, Andy and Alex - off 7 and 14 respectively - trialled ten different branded game improvement drivers at 10.5-degree, neutral face setting and stiff shaft and then marked each out of ten for appearance, feel and performance with additional results provided from the revolutionary ball tracking system 3Trak.

The test, carried out on the state-of-the-art technology at Urban Golf in Kensington, saw Andy and Alex score separately without consultation and the score presented for each driver is an average of two. This generated an overall score out of 30, with an overall table and conclusion on the final page of the feature.

With each driver, we have also provided details of price, lie angle (angle between centre line of hosel and ground line when the ground line is in contact with the centre of the sole from heel to toe), length, swing weight (measure of how the weight of the club feels when you swing it), shaft and grip.

The test is listed in alphabetical order.

Click here to see our first golf driver review

(If you would like to skip straight to the results page, Best 10 golf drivers 2013.)


Previous article
Ten of the Best: Player irons 2013
Next page
Adams Speedline Super S

Discuss this story

We'd love you to add a comment! Please take half a minute to register as a free member
What makes a driver fit the category of 'Game Improvement'? Are there really categories like that for drivers?

Anyway I was surprised to see the Nike Covert missing, and the RBZ stage2 would've been a good choice too, and no Titliest either?

Finally special interest could have been made to the adjustability of some of these, a little tweaking could have drastically changed some of the launch stats between you guys, and maybe finding a more suitable shaft from the range would have helped too (obviously dependant on what the manufacturer sent you).

Posted: 15/03/2013 at 18:28

Look forward to seeing the Adams on e bay. Sounds a winner!!!! Still loving my Cleveland. Even had a 10 H/C borrow it off me for a blast on SAturday. He was getting a bit narked with me outdriving him. LOL

Posted: 17/03/2013 at 20:15

Nice one guys, good stuff again.

What do you both use currently, out of interest?

Posted: 18/03/2013 at 16:05

AP

Both using the Adams after this...

I use a PING G20 and Andy last year's Cobra AMP.

Posted: 18/03/2013 at 16:49

Good to see some objective numbers in golf club reviews.

Great work guys.

Posted: 19/03/2013 at 10:57

love this site guys an everything you do wish there was sites like this in australia looking forward to what you come up with next

keep up the good work guys

Posted: 31/03/2013 at 08:36

Hmm I've never heard of 'game improvement' drivers either. Notwithstanding, if I thought that the S Line would give me driving distances as advertised, I would go out and buy one tomorrow! However, I am not totally convinced with the trackman figures. You know what they say - 'don't believe anything you hear and only believe half of what you see'.   

Posted: 01/04/2013 at 21:00

got fitted for an RBZ stage 2 yesterday with a regular 50g shaft giving a 17 yard improvement on my R5 dual.Trackman gave 90Mph swing 1.5 smash factor and 5 degree upward swing towards the ball giving between 220 and 240 plus carry. Awesome driver also tried a few others at golf show and only one i liked more is the Boom Boom 2 but thats £100 more expensive.
Tried the callaway x hot and didnt like it at all.

Posted: 31/05/2013 at 13:33

Nice work Iain, that's a decent distance gain!

Posted: 31/05/2013 at 15:27

i'm interested in buying an Adams Speedline Super S. What flex did you use in your test and what was the swingspeed.
My swingspeed with 6 iron is 83 mph.
What flex do you recomment?

Thx for this great site

Posted: 21/07/2013 at 21:19

Hi X-elf

Stiff flex and just over the 100 mark.

Take a look at the distance you hit your driver. This is very general but I've always thought if you can carry your driver 230-plus, go stiff; less than 230, regular.

Posted: 25/09/2013 at 10:21

Well maybe nearer 240-250, I carry roughly around 235 and stiff works fine for me.

Posted: 25/09/2013 at 11:08

I have the original Cleveland classic and love it, the deeeeep head gives me loads of confidence and off centre hits still go a distance..It looks so much better than any other driver on the market too. I too tried the Callaway x hot and hated it!! 

Posted: 25/09/2013 at 11:26

Yes, it really is a classic. I know my dad, an 18-capper, is loving it right now. Increase in distance and appears to have straightened up his dodgy banana fade.

Posted: 25/09/2013 at 11:28