Tuesday 7 October 2008 | Personalise | Help  
Free membership
Join GOLFmagic now
Join today and you could win a Cobra LD Driver worth £222
why join?  
Latest Reviews
4320 Total Reviews
 FORUM
Discussions by:   Latest Posts | New Discussions | Hot Threads | Forum Topics
 Search forum: 
CLONES
1 to 13 of 13 messagesTo post a reply you need to be a member - Join now.
Show/hide user stats
Fancy a clone. Check out this site.

http://www.golfclubsandmore.com/index.html

Can you spot yours ??
Edited: 18/02/06 13:24
Show/hide user stats
The Dual Rescue clubs eaven look like they have got the TM logo on them....DIRECT FROM CHINA, copying some where near you. How would you feel when you turn up for a Sunday fourball, your mates would slate you to death for eaven considering them. When you go to take your Tee shot and then watch it slice 300ys right, only went 100ys forward:^)
They may not be them but I bet they DONT play anything like the real thing, nice one Moppy:^)
Show/hide user stats
As usual I found this site by looking for something else. It may be worth adding to your favourites for checking dodgy deals on auction sites etc.
Show/hide user stats
I actually bought the T7 Driver head just to see what it was like (I was buying shafts, ferrules and grips anyhow)
It is actually avery well made,goes just as far as my Premium driver,only difference is it is slightly heavier (D3 instead of D2?)
I think this sort of thing is big business in the States,it's a pity we don't have more like it in the UK as they are great for buying components.
Show/hide user stats
I love the P5G driver - even the blue paintwork looks close to the real Ping thing. I'm sure that the legal eagles representing Ping, TM etc must watch these sites closely to see just how far the lookalikes are pushing it.
There are some decent clones out there - the likes of Acer take a design idea and copy it to offer the benefit of the design/technology to the buyer. But I can't see what the P5G assures except a lookalike paint job! At least the R7 offers the moveable weight concept. But it is a big risk.
My preference (if I was paying US shipping fees) would be to go to GolfSmith who offer a range of quality components including Snake Eyes (there is UK branch of Golfsmith but they don't seem inclined to sell components to the public).
Show/hide user stats
The big difference between clones is that some have evolved into their own brand like the acer, a well made head and great performance.
Many of the others that have been mentioned fall into the category of near counterfeit- and would be nailed for the term passing off.
Although a grey area, if there are multiple distinguishing features added to a clone in an effort to mislead or confuse it would be passing off
Show/hide user stats
I agree with Dandy Don about these so called clones. I found that they are as good if not better than the makes we know over here. I bought a Snake Bite head fitted with a Fujikura vista pro 70 shaft from Diamond Tour golf America.I hit this driver far more consistantly than my old Callaway.The only snag is the £30-00 pounds I had to pay the ups driver when it was deliverd. ( some kind of tax rip off in this country) Roy
Show/hide user stats
I think the rip off is that they didnt tell you that you would have to pay it.
But it shows you dont have to spend a fortune if a high quality shaft is in the mix
Show/hide user stats
Posted this a while back. May help.

http://www.golfclubsandmore.com/index.html

If you cut a clone or a fake driver in half, which one would have the same technology inside as the ogiginal. Say for instance the inverted cone of TM drivers or the double face of others. ??
Show/hide user stats
none thats where the patents are and where clones become counterfeits
in my experience the weld quality is an area where you can tell the difference.
Show/hide user stats
So how are these different to fakes?

In an article in one of the UK mags recently they cut a fake in half and it was made of scrap metal.

Think I'll stick with 'value' clubs like MD if I want to save money.
Show/hide user stats
youre right with MD they make some great quality clubs for the money they charge and components they use.

Only in terminology
fakes are counterfeit where they actually brand the product exactly
clones may cosmetically look like a particular product but wont have the same patented features but they can also be now stopped under the passing off law
where they are so cosmetically similar the customer may believe they are buying the real thing
Show/hide user stats
You can get good clones at www.ukcustomgolf.com.
They are based near you Dandy don. If you go to them they will let you try their clubs. I have a two ball putter clone that performs as good as the real thing. A pro didn't notice much difference only very slightly heavier than the real thing and over £100 cheaper!

 You say:
Message: (1500 character limit)
(Using the Quick Post will also register you with the site)
First Name: *
Last Name: *
Email: *
Security Image:This is a security image
Write the characters shown in the image above (Case sensitive)
I agree to the site's Terms and Conditions & Code of Conduct
  
  
 

Change stats view
Make external bookmarkAdd to My Bookmarks

« Previous thread   -   Next thread »
Home > Forum > EquipmentForum jump  
Members Logon
Email:
Password:
forgot your
password?
Article search
Click to support GM