Handicap Changes

16 messages
28/12/2011 at 14:54

It's my first year of being a member and getting my handicap and, after a pretty decent year, I worked my way down from 18 to 14.8. The last medal I played was the start of October, where I finished with an 83 and 14 over par.

I recently received an email from HowdidIdo saying my handicap had been revised to 17.2, even though I haven't played and my last 5 rounds I averaged less than 14 over gross.

I know I will probably not be playing to that level now, but I'd like to think if I get back to the range and the course soon then I will be back at that level by March, when I'm planning on getting back into the medals again. I know this could work to my advantage and give me a false head start, but I wanted to try and build on where I left off and get out of the teens in 2012, and now I'm almost back to where I started.

Is this a normal change that happens and can your handicap get quickly adjusted in the new season if it has had an end of year amendment? Thanks in advance

28/12/2011 at 15:06

Stephen under the CONGU rules clubs have a annual review towards the end of the year. All your results during that year are looked at by the "computer" and it spits out names and cuts as it sees fit, exactly what the criteria are that decides if you get cut or not is known only to Harry Potter and Dumbldorf but it appears that there has been some sort of glitch for you to be given 2 .4 back as far as I know you can only be given 2 shots and then in fairly stringent circumstances... HOWEVER there is a appeals procedure so you could go to that and have your say.. failing that sit back and wait for the handicap sec to ask you to play in the summer knockouts with him...

28/12/2011 at 15:41