Who has lost interest in golf for a period of time ?

14 messages
12/04/2012 at 19:54

Cant believe I am saying this but for the last month I have lost interest in golf due to meeting a new woman.

I used to live eat and breath golf, but have played once in the last month!

Feel like all my practise over winter has gone to waste!

Playing sat hopefully, 

Has anyone here had near enough a month off golf and how did you find it affected your performance when returning ?

12/04/2012 at 20:01

I had a period of about 6-7 weeks with no golf when I had my appendix out. When I started playing again my short game was pants.

12/04/2012 at 20:27

I always lose interest in golf over the winter period. Its crap playing in the cold wet windy miserable weather over the winter period. Golf is a game one is supposed to enjoy.

12/04/2012 at 20:55

Missed 2 1/2 months with fractured elbow 2 years ago - missed golf loads - played too early but enjoyed it. Now however I think I could take or leave it for the time being. Could be a lull in form or something else but not as fired up as I was. Hopefully just the winter doldrums being shaken off.

12/04/2012 at 21:58

I am kind of hoping it will clear my head of all the swing thoughts and hopefully return with a nice natural swing... who knows 

13/04/2012 at 07:20

I dont think i've ever lost interest but there have been times when i'm been not quite so motivated to play. Meeting a new woman will of course put a bit of perspective on things but once / if things settle down a bit i'm sure your interest in playing golf will increase again.

13/04/2012 at 09:11

I lost interest about 2 yrs ago - kids growing up and doing their thing (football), work, and an acceptance that I wouldn't play to the standard I had done (let alone improve) without practice that my heart just wasn't into. So, instead of spending £700 a year and making a 40 mile round trip every Saturday I was free, I packed it in. And I don't miss it.