Regular of Senior Flex Shafts?

05/04/2013 at 18:28

Hi Folks:

I'm New to this wonderful forum. Thought I'd take advantage of your collective expertise and ask your advice regarding Regular vs. Senior Flex Shafts.

I am an "older" player (mid-late fifties) and a 17.8 handicap with a swing speed of 85-90 MPH with driver.

FYI: I hit driver average of 200-210 yards and use a 5 iron on shots of 150 yards.

I'm being tempted by a new hybrid iron set and was wondering if perhaps I might be better served with a senior shaft rather than my customary regular flex shaft as I have been told that I'm somewhere on the cusp between the two.

Your thoughts and experiences are greatly anticipated and appreciated.

05/04/2013 at 19:08

I converted to senior shafts some five years ago & found this to be a great adantage.

I am 66 years old & find i can just swing normal & exceed your distances without any

extra effort. My advice would be give them a try, you never know. Good luck.

05/04/2013 at 19:18

Senior.

05/04/2013 at 19:23

My advice would be to go and try teh same head in different shafts side by side and then make up your mind.

05/04/2013 at 22:01
Although I am a senior and use senior shafts, I have to agree with True Blue. You should consider being fitted or at least try the same club with both shafts.
07/04/2013 at 03:10

Thanks to all  for sharing your advise and experience.

Here's what I've decided to do moving forward.

I've purchased the 3hybrid with senior shaft of the set I'm eyeballing and can now give it a full try out on the course where it matters.

Frankly , I'm a tad suspicious of the golf shop computer testing approach and I dont trust hitting into a net as much as hitting it down a fairway. After all, those golf shop guys have a vested interest in selling me clubs while I'm the only stake holder interested in collecting data regarding my swing.  A precarious relationship at best...and a potentially expensive one at that!