Tiger predicts even more loft on wedges

07/09/2009 at 15:19
What wedges do you carry? Have you enlisted the aid of even more loft than the traditional 60-degrees? Ever been penalised - or penalised yourself - for carrying too many clubs?
07/09/2009 at 15:27

I have a 60 degree wedge. Hardly ever use it tbh.

I only just realised the other day that I had been carrying 15 clubs

07/09/2009 at 16:13

This is getting silly - Seve had it right, there should be a max loft on wedges. I'd suggest 56deg.

I have a 60deg LW, but can't hit it consitently. I also have a 56deg, but right now I've got no higher than the SW from iron set. Since having my pitching technique tweaked at a recent lesson, I find that I hit the ball higher. High enough to flip over a bunker to a tight pin with my SW.

07/09/2009 at 16:32
56 max for me. TBH I do just as well with 53 deg. Any higher costs me shots. (9hcap presently, perhaps better players can exploit it better).
07/09/2009 at 17:05
I suppose Tigger will be sporting a 90 degree wedge soon
07/09/2009 at 18:47

I use a 58 and would not like someone imposing a 56 degree ban.

Why should there be?

07/09/2009 at 19:08
Just use a 56* for all my shots from 80yds in. I have a 64* that I like but rarely carry it, really only on a links course.
07/09/2009 at 19:38
I have a 60 Degree and its great...but I can't see the logic in limiting the ammount of loft... Like these high lofted clubs aint that easy to use...
07/09/2009 at 19:42

I have a 54 and 60 Vokeys.

Love the 60, but only use for escape or bunker shots.

07/09/2009 at 19:47
Plenty of wedges that get swapped depending on conditions, 60* lob wedge is always in the bag but sometimes change my set up, gap wedge can make way for another utility or change my 56* sand wedge for a 54* to better cover yardages
07/09/2009 at 19:58