practice putting on completion of hole

16 messages
14/07/2004 at 10:53
in a strokeplay competition on completing a hole can you re-try the putt you missed or is it a no no
14/07/2004 at 11:13
I think you can practice on a hole which has been played already during a match..

...Nick?
14/07/2004 at 11:52
A practice putt after holing out is fine, providing you don't hold up the group behind you.

Rule 7-2 states:

A player must not make a practice stroke during play of a hole.

Between the play of two holes a player must not make a practice stroke, except that he may practise putting or chipping on or near:
(a) the putting green of the hole last played,
(b) any practice putting green, or
(c) the teeing ground of the next hole to be played in the round,
provided a practice stroke is not made from a hazard and does not unduly delay play (Rule 6-7).
14/07/2004 at 11:56
See rule 7-2.

You can practice putting or chipping on or near the last hole played, on a practice green or on the the teeing ground of the next hole to be played.

You can't play the stroke from a hazard and you mustn't unduly delay play.
14/07/2004 at 12:06
I think it's only in some Pro tournaments where it is banned.
14/07/2004 at 12:30
Further to Nick's post a committee my prohibit this practice. In fact the R&A recommend this course of action. So therefore the club may have imposed this rule in the past and expect it to be common knowledge (although have not listed it in local rules).
14/07/2004 at 14:09
I believe the rationale behind it being banned in some Pro tournaments is more to do with the deteriorating state of the greens due to spike marks as opposed to any suspected unfair advantage being reaped by the extra practice.
14/07/2004 at 14:29
They also practice in match play - so what's the difference (less players?)
14/07/2004 at 14:29
meant to say "always" not "also"
14/07/2004 at 14:42
You're allowed to practice on the course before or between rounds in match play (rule 7-1), but rule 7-2 (practice during a round) applies to both match play and stroke play.
19/07/2004 at 17:44
One rule of Golf is that you must play by the rules.

Sam Torrence and Curtis Strange agreed not to allow practice putting in the Ryder Cup BECAUSE IT WOULD UNDULY DELAY PLAY .

But in general you can practice under rule 7.2 after you have holed out and you are not delaying other groups.
23/07/2004 at 08:50
thankyou all for your replies they have been very helpful iam now studying the rule book
26/05/2012 at 21:02
if you read the rule 7.2 properly it says you can not make a practice stroke during play of a hole, or BETWEEN the play of 2 holes !!! this means you can have a practice on the 1st & the 18th not on any other hole ....!!!
26/05/2012 at 21:08

Is there a prize for the longest bump? 

26/05/2012 at 21:41
The correct answer was given 14/7/2004 11.56, it's still valid, so this is a record, futile bump!
DH
26/05/2012 at 22:04
Noel haye wrote (see)
if you read the rule 7.2 properly it says you can not make a practice stroke during play of a hole, or BETWEEN the play of 2 holes !!! this means you can have a practice on the 1st & the 18th not on any other hole ....!!!

If you read the rule properly it says more than that.

Your say
email image
16 messages
Golfmagic on Twitter