Putting Query

5 messages
21/08/2008 at 19:58

Is it an infringement of the rules for your opponent to be standing directly behind you or in front down the line whilst you are putting?

I always thought it was but have have been trawling through the rules book, as you do, and I can't find it within the rules.

The only place it seems to be covered is under etiquette 

Consideration for Other Players

"Players should not stand close to or directly behind the ball, or directly behind the hole, when a player is about to play"

Is this right? Perhaps one of the rules gurus on here can let me know and point me in the right direction.

Thanks

DEC
21/08/2008 at 20:15
It is not a breach by the opponent - it is all about etiquette. You have found all there is to find.
DH
21/08/2008 at 20:54

Perhaps you had this in mind

14-2. Assistance

In making a [i]stroke,[/i] a player must not:

b. Allow his [i]caddie,[/i] his [i]partner[/i] or his [i]partner[/i]'s[i] caddie[/i] to position himself on or close to an extension of the [i]line of play[/i] or the [i]line of putt[/i] behind the ball.

22/08/2008 at 07:20

It's only an infringement if the person concerned is part of your side.  All other players can stand on the line of a putt if they choose.  Of course, out of courtesy hardly anyone does it.

22/08/2008 at 13:48
you could of course ask him or her to politely F off out your line of sight.
Your say
email image
5 messages
Golfmagic on Twitter