Using the back of a club

3 messages
28/09/2009 at 11:23

Hi,

I know it's ok to use the back of a putter when tapping in. Is it ok to use the back of a club especially putter at other times, ie to get out from trees left handed.

My putter is really easy to use for this and I just want to make sure it's legal.

 Thanks.

28/09/2009 at 11:29

You have to strike the ball with the head - there are no rules on which bit.

However, the club must only have one face intended for striking the ball (unless it's a putter and the two faces are the same).

28/09/2009 at 11:37

14-1/1  Playing Stroke with Back of Clubhead

http://www.usga.org/assets/0/1181/1514/5e6357ca-4421-4dab-a626-4a0fc8b9062c.gif

Q. May a player play a left-handed stroke with the back of the head of a right-handed club?

A. Yes. A player may play a stroke with any part of the clubhead, provided the ball is fairly struck at (Rule 14-1) and the club conforms with Rule 4-1.

Your say
email image
3 messages
Golfmagic on Twitter