The Swing Glove

1 to 20 of 22 messages
13/06/2007 at 15:10
Guys,

I got very interested in a recent thread on the flat wrist at the top of the swing.

So I did a bit of routing on the internet and founs this aid.

www.swingglove.com

What I wanted to know is, is it legal for competition play.

I am no expert but I expect it contravenes rule 14/3 unusual equipment.

But I wanted one the rule experts to confirm this.

I have emailed the R&A and the manufacturers but the responces are likely to be slow.

FYI I have bought one off eBay delivered for £10 and once I have used it for a while I will review it on this site.
13/06/2007 at 15:25
No I don'y think it will be. It states that you cannot use it in tournament play in the FAQ on the web site. I presume this is American for competitions?
DH
13/06/2007 at 16:47
It is in breach of 14-3 at all times.
The USGA have this oddball idea that you can play golf and break the rules but you must still declare your score for handicap purposes. If it is in a 'tournament' (competition) you would not qualify for prizes etc.
13/06/2007 at 17:39
14.3 says a plain glove may be worn.

I wonder what they mean by "plain".
I would guess very few gloves are plain in that they have all have some design on them such as the manufacturer's logo.
13/06/2007 at 20:04
As I'm informed (from a discussion on FGI), not even a USGA-Rules player can post a card when this swingglove is used.

They can break almost every Rule in the book and be disqualified over and over and still have to post, but if a gadget specifically designed to help the stroke like this glove - no posting allowed.

AFAIK - any glove is considered "plain" as long as it's not designed to physically help the player like this glove. It may be designed with markings and pointers, and the player can mark the glove any way he likes with a pen or a sharpie.

DH
13/06/2007 at 20:52
RD