Rule 6.6b

18 posts / 0 new
Rule 6.6b

I got DQ'd from our midweek medal because of Rule 6.6b.

The bloke who marked my card made a right old hash of it and he had to make some changes. Was I supposed to initial these changes or something?

I would have been 3rd too. Never mind...

If the changes made were clear, or you explained them, as long as you and your marker signed the card there shouldn't have been a problem. What exactly was the 'right old hash of it' Dave?

Taz is correct. Here's the supporting evidence. D6-6a/6Also know this for the future.D6-6a/7So why did you get DQd?

There is no requirement to initial any change to the individual score. But anyway, it would be nice to know what the hash up was.

I dont know. I will find out more at the weekend. The hash was that he recorded scores on the first 4 of the back 9 which didnt correlate in any way to my actual scores.

Dave - A marker keeps your card and signs your card, but you are responsible for it.If you don't check it before you sign it yourself and hand it in, any mistakes on it is your own problem, not your markers, and a marker is never, ever to blame for any mistakes.

No - he changed them before he signed them at the end. The only thing I did was sign it and put it in the box. I honestly dont know why I was DQ'd. I have emailed the comp secretary to find out more.

Did you sign before or after he signed ?

signed after him.

You've no excuse then

Thats what I always do. When round is finished, I double check the scores with the marker, he then signs, I sign and then put it in the comps box. I dont know what happened yet.. If I have done something wrong then fine. At the moment, I dont think I did anything wrong.

Are you an MP ? 

Forgot to sign my card after a comp.marker signed his bit,I put card into comp.box,tried to get out to sign it but could not,left note in box about not signing it.Had put correct score in on computer. I was disqualified and had my handicap altered downwards because I had a good round, is this correct?

Franco Calandrini wrote (see)

I was disqualified and had my handicap altered downwards because I had a good round, is this correct? Yes.  Although you are disqualified from the competition, your score still counts towards handicap adjustments.

Thanks for that! also, if the comp. was still active should I be allowed to take unsigned card out of comp.box and signing it and not getting disqualified.   

Nope! 

Franco Calandrini wrote (see)

Thanks for that! also, if the comp. was still active should I be allowed to take unsigned card out of comp.box and signing it and not getting disqualified.   

That entirely depends on how the competition rules define the moment when your card is deemed to have been returned to the Committee. Rule 6-6c simply tells us that no alterations are allowed after a card is returned, but does not define when that is.  At my club that is defined as when the card has been posted in the box.  Other clubs may make it later than that which would allow you to retrieve and change your card. You would need to check the rules of the particular competition or of your club to find out what you could do in your own case.