College golfer strips off, jumps into hazard to find his golf ball

Comical moment as Jacksonville University golfer wades around the water looking for his ball.

Andy Roberts's picture
Submitted by Andy Roberts on

Sometimes, you just have to question golf's rules. None more so than Rule 15-1 where you get docked two strokes if you accidentally drop a golf ball in the water and can't find it. 

That's exactly what happened to Jacksonville University senior David Wicks, who marked his three-footer for par only to see his ball trickle out of his pocket, hit his shoe and fall down the slope into the water.

IT HAPPENED ON TOUR: TAKE THIS QUIZ OF GOLF RULES INCIDENTS AND SEE WHOM THEY AFFECTED

"I looked at my playing partners, they looked at me, and there was that awkward silence where we both knew it’d be a penalty," said Wicks.

The Englishman needed to find his original ball or he would be assessed a two-stroke penalty for not finishing the hole with the same ball.

 

 

"I was always going to go in," he added. "If I hadn’t gone in and we’d lost by a shot, the nine-hour drive back I would have been thinking about it the whole time. At least I know now."

Wicks talks more about the incident below...

"It was warm," said  Wicks. "Nice temperature. If I had a nice inflatable and a Diet Coke, it would have been a lovely afternoon."

Digging through the mud, searching for five minutes, he found about 30 balls, mostly Top Flites and Pinnacles, but not his. 

Wicks went on to make a double-bogey six instead of par, however, it mattered little in the end as his Dolphins team went on to win a play-off and move into its first NCAA finals.