Points disqualified but can still play

Former Pebble Beach champ DQ'd for using training aid midway through round

0

Share this Article

Points DQ'd at Pebble Beach
Training aid Points was spotted using during his round

DA POINTS was disqualified from the AT&T Pebble Beach National for using a training device while waiting to play the 18th - his ninth hole - at Pebble Beach yesterday.

The 2011 AT&T Pebble Beach National champion was sent packing from the individual tournament for using a stick with a sponge ball attached to the end of it, and as he used it midway through his round, he'd violated Rule 14-3 - a ruling whereby the penalty is automatic disqualification.

Points shot a 75 and was tied for 60th, eight shots behind leaders Jimmy Walker and Jordan Spieth.

Tour officials said Points could still return this afternoon to play the pro-am portion of the tournament alongside his amateur partner in former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice.

If he chooses not to play in the event, another professional will be assigned to play with Rice.

Share this Article

Previous article
Cheyenne Woods wins first major professional title
Next article
Woods to skip Match Play Championship

Discuss this story

We'd love you to add a comment! Please take half a minute to register as a free member

POLL

Which is the worst major meltdown?
Jean Van de Velde - 1999 Open (73%)
Rory McIlroy - 2011 Masters (5%)
Adam Scott - 2012 Open (0%)
Jordan Spieth - 2016 Masters (10%)
Greg Norman - 1996 Masters (11%)
Arnold Palmer - 1966 US Open (0%)