SG5 (2009)

SkyCaddie the best GPS on the market? Many comparisons have been made over the past- but without dought it is the general opinion of Golf Professionals and Professional caddies that the SkyCaddie SG5 is the best! Packed with qwerky features it is the most accurate system in golf to date.

By on Mon, 10 Aug 2009 - 08:08

Our score:   
Overall: 
0

Need To Know

PRICE: £329.00     YEAR: from 2008

User Reviews

Submitted by Kazimierz Walusiak on Fri, 04/09/2009 - 15:25

Overall Review

A bit pricey, but you get what you pay for in this excellent piece of technology. I knocked 2 full strokes off my handicap in my first medal since purchase.

Rating Breakdown
Performance
Quality
Value

Strengths

Gives exact yardages to hazards and to Green, and lets you know how far you can hit with your clubs

Weaknesses

I've not found any yet

Submitted by Christopher Date on Wed, 09/09/2009 - 11:32

Overall Review

Takes the guess work out of your short game

Rating Breakdown
Performance
Quality
Value

Strengths

Weaknesses

Submitted by Roger Stone on Wed, 09/09/2009 - 19:46

Overall Review

My SG5 hasa been a real benefit to me both for course distances as well as giving me an accurate distance for each club that I use especially as I had just aquired my new Mizuno MP67 irons.

Rating Breakdown
Performance
Quality
Value

Strengths

Good measurements ideal to obtain precise distance measurements as well as accurate distances for all clubs. Easy to download courses from the Web site.

Weaknesses

None that I have found yet, after 4 months use.

Submitted by Harry Putter on Fri, 11/09/2009 - 16:01

Overall Review

R I P O F F

Rating Breakdown
Performance
Quality
Value

Strengths

Great bit of kit, does exactly the same as various free applications available. You can store upto 10 courses on it! Knocked 13 shots off my handicap first time I used it!

Weaknesses

The fact that Skycaddie see fit to charge you on an annual basis. On top of paying the sharp end of 300 quid for the unit, you are then asked to pay for each course you download, then you have to pay a yearly fee to SC so they'll let you keep hold of the stuff you have already paid for, genius!

Submitted by Safe Hands on Sat, 28/11/2009 - 11:45

Overall Review

The Skycaddie is a great piece if kit, it is accurate, gives me all I need to know to be able to play my best golf, it gives me confidence to see a shot and play it without the guesswork of "how far" because I know their information is spot on. But for me one of the best things about the Skycaddie is the customer service it is awsome, and not automated, you get a real person who knows what he or she is talking about.

Rating Breakdown
Performance
Quality
Value

Strengths

Accurate, up to date course information, and courses updated , lots of relevent information and now even more features like the "Quick View" and new Intelligreen with indications for the different levels on a green etc, great colour screen,and their Customer Sevice, I have to say this is excelent a real strength to this product in times when customer service is usually automated .

Weaknesses

Still looking for one, but if any I would say having to register before you can use it, but hey this isn`t a real issue but the one thing I would think would save the knockers like Harry and the "must get everything for free brigade" and "how dare anyone make a profit" even if they do produce a great product !!

Submitted by Andy Manington on Wed, 02/12/2009 - 21:46
Rating Breakdown
Performance
Quality
Value

Strengths

Weaknesses

Submitted by Brooks Middle on Wed, 17/02/2010 - 03:35

Overall Review

At a final look the SG5 is a easy and reliable product. It is more on the expensive side but is defiantly worth it for its accuracy and friendly use. The SG5 is a promising buy for most golfers!

Rating Breakdown
Performance
Quality
Value

Strengths

The SG5 is a step up from your ordinary rangefinder. SkyCaddie has done it agian with the release of this new product. The SG5 features a LCD screen that is very bright and easy to read even with sun glare which is just an amazing feature! The SG5 is easy to use for the average golfer and even the more serious precise golfer. SG5's offer distance not only to green but also to bunkers, hazards etc. One of the neatest features on this friendly product is you can enter your scores and statistics to improve your game to the maximum!

Weaknesses

Despite the great features that are offered, there is downfalls. For the more serious player it is against the USGA rules to use a GPS enabled rangefinder(which the SG5 is). Depending on the type of player your are this might not effect you at all. Another is price, like most golf equipment the SG5 is not the cheapest product to hit the market. Most can cost to 300-350 dollars.

Submitted by BTatHome on Thu, 21/08/2014 - 13:35

Overall Review

Bought this as an upgrade to my SH2.5, giving me the extra hole views and features that the basic sg2.5 was lacking. To be honest the extras aren't really the make or break for this device, they just make the data being shown more interesting and pretty to see. The same bunkers, hazards and water features are shown in the basic device, but in this one you can see them pictorially (you can also upgrade the device to the latest software that has more detailed green views with a cheap upgrade cost. Overall the device performs well, automatically tracking me around the course and changing holes when required, my only gripe is the initial hole view (the birds eye view) is rendered very slowly on this device, and if you want to skip there is nothing you can do but wait for it to finish the drawing. Lots of accessories for this one, so if you have a trolley you can attach it easily, and even charge it on the latest trolleys too. A quick update on the pc occasionally to update course map changes is all that is needed, and gives superior accuracy compared to devices that don't ground map. Accuracy of the maps is important to me as my course has changed three times in the last two years and some devices are still not showing any of the changes at all !

Rating Breakdown
Performance
Quality
Value

Strengths

- Waterproof, so doesn't need a bag ... not sure I'd trust it leaving it out all the time though. - fully featured, that only gets bettered with mega money now. - hole birds eye view is nice to see the layout and any hole features not in view. - updated maps.

Weaknesses

- slow draw speed of hole overview, on complex hole layouts it takes a while to draw in trees/bunkers etc, annoying when your stood waiting for the device as you can't press any buttons to change display. - only two rounds of golf before recharge. - subscription charge !