4Ball tactics in competition

20 posts / 0 new
4Ball tactics in competition
Whenever I have played in competition with the 4Ball (stableford or medal variety) I don't think any of my partners has ever shown any tactical awareness ..... eg saying, "I'll put my ball in play and then you can go for it." or something like that. Most people seem to just play their normal game when probably with some more thought an extra point or 2 could be gained or shots saved. Do you have any tactics like one player attacking and the other playing steady ?

yes

Especially off the tee, I prefer to tee off after my partner if he's safe then I'll take it on, if not then I'll try to play the sensible shot (I'm not very good at them though). If one of us has a longish putt for birdie or eagle (net usually) and the other has a simple putt for par then the par goes first to take pressure off the birdie putt. Generally from tee to green you don't even have to talk about it, just observe how your partner is playing or where their ball is.

Yes, but I'm not telling you what they are in case we meet on a GM day!Serious answer now. Have you shown any tactical awareness, or just let them plod along playing their own game?Someone has to TAKE CHARGE of a team. Make it yourself, then you won't have to seek advice on tactics. Your post indicates you have the basics, so impose those thoughts on your team, starting before you get to the first tee.And if your partners(s) aren't happy with the arrangement, find someone else to partner next time. Or maybe they will take the hint and take the captaincy on themselves. Either way you now have a leader and a plan.(And of course the captain is still in charge in the bar afterwards, and tells the other guy to get the drinks in!)

Dave the short putt to secure par often has the opposite effect when it is missed. Jim I hope I don't meet you in the doubles.