Ball and head Position in relation to club choice

12 posts / 0 new
Ball and head Position in relation to club choice

Hi all what a great forum!I'm a beginner and pretty clueless and useless so please be kind.

Absolutely and feedback on this will be hugely appreciated.

Many thanks

Chris

Perceived wisdom as I understand it is that ball is positioned nearer left heel for the longer clubs, in the middle for .. er ... middle clubs, with short irons nearer right heel. But there are others on here more knowledgeable on this subject. 

Hi Chris - at present my wife, who is learning has asked the same question. There are a couple of schools of thought on it but the method I find easiest, is standing with your feet together at address with the ball central and then moving the left foot to the side slightly, so the ball is inside the left heel by a couple of inches. Then widen the stance by moving the right foot only by the same amount as the left, for wedges, and  a bit wider for each longer iron. For the 4, 5 & 6  irons the ball will effectively be nearer the left foot, for the 9 and wedges mid stance (narrower stance) For driver I get her to stand with feet together at address and not take any step sideways with the left foot - just move the right foot to a shoulder width stance. This leaves the ball level with the left heel, which is ideal for the modern high teed drivers. Others will have differing opinions, it is really what works for you and that takes time.  Oh as far as the head - just keep upright and try to maintain head and butt position through the swing, turning within that axis.

Thanks so much guys that's helped a lot! I'll give this a go asap. Chris