Ballooning drives

6 posts / 0 new
Ballooning drives
I am somehow managing to hit a 10.5 R9 driver about 200 yards in the air (height) and about 170 forward! I even got backspin the other day. How do I keep them down? I have tried a low tee but to no avail.

Hi Dave, Firstly I am not a pro so don't take what I write as the full solution, but here goes...A low tee forces you to hit down causing cut spin and high flight - generally.I suggest you tee the ball up so at least a 3rd of it is over the driver head. Secondly look at how close you are to the ball if you can shuffle a little back (how much is an experiment that you must do) this will flatten your swing plane and more than likely find you distance. A simple way to feel how close you should be is to hover the club head near the ball - and just draw the head back and bring it to the ball, a few times to make sure the ball is still in the centre of the face. good luck !Try that and if there is no success see a proper pro and have a proper fix...

In between some amazingly great drives, I was hitting some similarly high drives tonight ...

They were almost always down to flippy hands or the ball coming off the top of the driver. Typically this happens because I'm going at the ball with my shoulders/hands instead of good sequencing to retain the lag.

There was a bit of a headwind also which would cause the ball to takeoff in the manner of an aeroplane.