Par 3 at my local course with OOB down left, along with a section of water hazard which is obscured by trees.
Local Rule states: -
"Permitting play of a provisional ball - 17th hole Ref Rules of Golf page 124 App1 Part A 2b. The ball is played provisionally under any of the available options under Rule 26-1. In such a case, if a provisional ball is played and the original ball is in a water hazard, the player may play the original as it lies or continue with the provisional ball in play, but may not proceed under Rule 26 with regard to the original ball."
Apparently this local rule was brought in to speed up play but in reality NOT taking a provisional ball would be the common sense option, because if the ball IS found in the hazard then all the normal W/Hazard options are available, under just a one shot penalty. It does mean that a walk back to the tee will be required if the ball is OOB or lost.
Is this local rule enforceable if I do find my ball in the hazard, even though I have taken a cautionary provisional?