WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship

27 posts / 0 new
WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship
I am wondering about the format of the WCC Accenture. ie: Todd Hamilton & Robert Allenby. Vs Darren Clarke & G. McDowell. Do Clarke and Mc dowell, play as a TEAM against the other pair. Advancing through the rounds as a teamed pair. OR do they play each other, then the 2 seperate winners of each paired match go through to the next round. ? Sorry if this is an obvious question to you old timers of TV golf tornament viewing. But as this is my first year of watching golf on the TV i have never taken any notice of these competitons before now.

DarrylFirstly thanks for reminding me. I'd forgotten this was on tonight.Clarke & McDowell play each other over 18 holes. If they're still level after 18 they play sudden death until there's a winner. Winner advances to next round.Only the final I believe is played over 36 holes.My tip? Darren Clarke.

That should read tomorrow night.Tw*t!

That's good because I was just about to run off and find it. Will be watching that tomorrow night for sure. Come on wee Darren.

Wee Darren!! I know he has lost weight but not that much.

Or is it just those vertical stripe pyjamas he has taken to wearing making him look slimmer.

It's an Northern Irish thing Jim. A term of endearment for one of our own.

Darens packed it back on but hel prob play better for it.. less edgy = better golf hopefully.

I guess it's on sky only?D'oh!

That's probably because he has been out of the game for over 3 months. He's been by his wife's side in hospital while she receives chemotherapy for her second bout of breast cancer. I think I'd probably put a bit of weight on too!Here's wishing Heather a speedy recovery.

Clarke looks a good bet. Not heard anything of Sergio for a week or two, so he'll be who I'm backing. :)