When your drop hits your foot - what's the golf rule in this scenario?

Golf Rule Question of the week - do you know the answer? 

Andy Roberts's picture
Thu, 17 Oct 2019
0

Golf's new knee-high drop ruling might not be everyone's cup of tea in 2019, but unfortunately it's just something we've all got to get used to until a revision is put in place. 

But the height of the drop itself is not the only issue it causes - something PGA Rules Panel member Ashley Weller discovered during a tournament he was officiating recently. Check out the following ruling, and see if you can identify the correct answer...

Here's what happened...

So a player was forced into taking a drop and he dropped the ball in the correct way from knee height.

However, his ball accidentally stopped by his foot and came to rest in the relief area. He then moved his foot, and the ball moved and came to rest still within the relief area. 

What do you think is the correct procedure from here? Here are three possible answers...

A) The ball must be re-dropped

B) The ball must be replaced at the spot where it came to rest against his foot

C) The ball is in play 

Think you know the answer? Extra points if you can identify the correct interpretation, too. Find out if you're right below...

Answer: B  

Interpretation: 14.3c(1)

If the player’s ball moves when the player moves his foot he must replace the ball as required by Rule 9.4, but he gets no penalty as the ball’s movement was a result of the player’s reasonable actions in taking relief under a Rule.

RELATED: PGA TOUR PROS WANT KNEE-HIGH DROP AMENDED ASAP!

MORE GOLF RULE QUESTIONS:

WHAT HAPPENS IN THIS MUD BALL SCENARIO?

ASHLEY WELLER IS AVAILABLE FOR RULES EVENINGS - GET IN TOUCH HERE

 

Comments

Loading Comments...