Decade of Golf: PGA Tour

How the PGA Tour became a One Man Show

Andy Swales
Tue, 5 Jan 2010

Decade of Golf: PGA Tour

Eyes of the Tiger - Woods with his wife Elin.

  It's difficult to imagine any golf pro repeating the successes of Tiger Woods in the foreseeable future. During the first decade of the 21st century, Woods won more than twice as many PGA Tour events than the next most successful player.

His 56 wins over 10 years is a remarkable feat in a sport that has become more competitive with every passing era.

Only four players reached double figures during the decade - Woods, Mickelson, Kenny Perry and Vijay Singh - with Ernie Els, Jim Furyk, Retief Goosen and Sergio Garcia among those falling short of double figures.

Tiger’s 56 titles easily stands-up against all other rivals down the decades. Jack Nicklaus won 38 PGA Tour titles during the 1970s, Arnold Palmer collected 43 in the 1960s and Ben Hogan 52 in the war-ravaged but less competitive 1940s.

Vijay Singh, whose 26 titles is the second highest during the last 10 years, should also be given special praise. The Fijian is the only player other than Woods to have topped the PGA Tour Money List since the start of 2000.

He won more dollars than anyone in 2003, 2004 and 2008 while Woods collected the remaining seven money titles.

The decade’s top 100 on the PGA Tour are listed below:



Loading Comments...