Solheim Wild Girls

European captain yesterday announced her wild card decisions and the complete 2000 European Solheim Cup team.

Mon, 4 Sep 2000

Dale Reid and vice captain Pam Wright announced on Sunday the 5 wild cards for the Solheim Cup next month at Loch Lomond.

"It really has been hard. There are still a couple of players who I wish were in the team, but I only have five picks at the end of the day. "There are so many class players on this Tour (Evian Ladies European Tour) now - there's at least 20 girls who deserve to be on this team. All fantastic golfers. This Tour's really come a long way."

With the 7 automatic qualifiers confirmed after the Kronenbourg 1664 Chart Hills Classic, the full team list is now as follows:


  1. Sophie Gustafson (SWE)
  2. Trish Johnson (ENG)
  3. Laura Davies (ENG)
  4. Alison Nicholas (ENG)
  5. Patricia Meunier Lebouc (FRA)
  6. Raquel Carriedo (ESP)
  7. Annika Sorenstam (SWE)


  1. Helen Alfredsson (SWE)
  2. Carin Koch (SWE)
  3. Janice Moodie (SCO)
  4. Liselotte Neumann (SWE)
  5. Catrin Nilsmark (SWE)

"We've got some fantastic players there, and they're all playing well. We have depth in the side, and the players who already have Solheim Cup experience will help the rookies.


Loading Comments...