US Open tee-offs: Woods v Westwood again

Another US Open date for World No.1 and No.3

Bob Warters's picture
Mon, 14 Jun 2010

US Open tee-offs: Woods v Westwood again

The reward for Lee Westwood's triumph in the St Jude Classic at the weekend is an appointment with World No.1 Tiger Woods on the first tee at Pebble Beach in the opening round of the US Open on Thursday. They have been paired together along with Ernie Els at 1.36 pm (9.36 pm in the UK).

The pair battled out an exciting last day in the 2008 US Open when Woods just forced a play-off with Rocco Mediate which he went on to win.

BMW PGA Champion Smon Khan, initially hadn't made the draw when he lost in a play-off in the European qualifier but as first reserve the world No.107 has had a late call-up and now partner Brian Gay and Bo Van Pelt off the tenth tee at 7.22 am (15.22).

Khan commented this week: "Big events like this have inspired me in the past. All I hope is to play somewhere close to my Wentworth performance."

Other interesting first and second day combinations include World No.2 Phil Mickelson with YE Yang and Padraig Harrington, St George Hill's James Morrison with Mikko Ilonen and Derek Lamely and Welshman Rhys Davies with Aaron Baddeley and Pablo Martin.

First and Second round Tee-offs (Pacific Time, 8hrs behind UK)

Thursday: Hole 1/Friday Hole 10
7 a.m./12:30 p.m.: Deane Pappas, Gary Woodland, Paul Sheehan
7:11 a.m./12:41 p.m.: Steve Marino, Gregory Havret, Charles Warren
7:22 a.m./12:52 p.m.: Toru Taniguchi, Soren Hansen, Edoardo Molinari
7:33 a.m./1:03 p.m.: Francesco Molinari, Soren Kjeldsen, Hiroyuki Fujita
7:44 a.m./1:14 p.m.: Tim Clark, KJ Choi, Mike Weir
7:55 a.m./1:25 p.m.: Adam Scott, Geoff Ogilvy, Robert Allenby
8:06 a.m./1:36 p.m.: Matt Kuchar, Justin Leonard, Scott Verplank
8:17 a.m./1:47 p.m.: Stewart Cink, a-Byeong-hun An, Lucas Glover
8:28 a.m./1:58 p.m.: Ian Poulter, Yuta Ikeda, Henrik Stenson
8:39 a.m./2:09 p.m.: Trevor Immelman, Robert Karlsson, David Toms
8:50 a.m./2:20 p.m.: Jason Gore, Arjun Atwal, Jim Herman
9:01 a.m./2:31 p.m.: a-Andrew Putnam, Ty Tryon, Hugo Leon
9:12 a.m./2:42 p.m.: Kent Eger, a-Alex Martin, Jon Curran
12:30 p.m./7 a.m.: Steve Wheatcroft, a-Morgan Hoffmann, Rikard Karlberg
12:41 p.m./7:11 a.m.: Marc Leishman, Rafa Echenique, John Rollins
12:52 p.m./7:22 a.m.: Rocco Mediate, Graeme McDowell, Shaun Micheel
1:03 p.m./7:33 a.m.: David Duval, Tom Lehman, Ben Curtis
1:14 p.m./7:44 a.m.: Sergio Garcia, Steve Stricker, Paul Casey
1:25 p.m./7:55 a.m.: Bob Estes, Brendon de Jonge, Brian Davis
1:36 p.m./8:06 a.m.: Lee Westwood, Ernie Els, Tiger Woods
1:47 p.m./8:17 a.m.: Ben Crane, Peter Hanson, Jerry Kelly
1:58 p.m./8:28 a.m.: Martin Kaymer, Sean O'Hair, Charl Schwartzel
2:09 p.m./8:39 a.m.: Heath Slocum, Oliver Wilson, John Senden
2:20 p.m./8:50 a.m.: Mathias Gronberg, Azuma Yano, Harrison Frazar
2:31 p.m./9:01 a.m.: Jason Preeo, a-Kevin Phelan, Mark Silvers
2:42 p.m./9:12 a.m.: Kenny Kim, a-Bennett Blakeman, Blaine Peffley

Thursday Hole 10/Friday Hole 1
7 a.m./12:30 p.m.: Rafael Cabrera, John Mallinger, Stephen Allan
7:11 a.m./12:41 p.m.: Mikko Ilonen, Derek Lamely, James Morrison
7:22 a.m./12:52 p.m.: Brian Gay, Simon Khan, Bo Van Pelt
7:33 a.m./1:03 p.m.: Camilo Villegas, Zach Johnson, Luke Donald
7:44 a.m./1:14 p.m.: Retief Goosen, Jim Furyk, Angel Cabrera
7:55 a.m./1:25 p.m.: Stuart Appleby, Rory Sabbatini, Stephen Ames
8:06 a.m./1:36 p.m.: Phil Mickelson, Padraig Harrington, YE Yang
8:17 a.m./1:47 p.m.: David Frost, Kaname Yokoo, Eric Axley
8:28 a.m./1:58 p.m.: Nick Watney, Hunter Mahan, Ricky Barnes
8:39 a.m./2:09 p.m.: Jason Dufner, Thongchai Jaidee, Ross McGowan
8:50 a.m./2:20 p.m.: Kevin Na, a-Ben Martin, Matt Bettencourt
9:01 a.m./2:31 p.m.: Craig Barlow, Kent Jones, Bobby Gates
9:12 a.m./2:42 p.m.: Dan McCarthy, a-Joseph Bramlett, Travis Hampshire
12:30 p.m./7 a.m.: Terry Pilkadaris, Rich Barcelo, Gary Boyd
12:41 p.m./7:11 a.m.: Jean-Francois Lucquin, Chris Stroud, Gareth Maybin
12:52 p.m./7:22 a.m.: Simon Dyson, JJ Henry, Alex Cejka
1:03 p.m./7:33 a.m.: Michael Campbell, Seung-yul Noh, Paul Goydos
1:14 p.m./7:44 a.m.: Aaron Baddeley, Pablo Martin, Rhys Davies
1:25 p.m./7:55 a.m.: Alvaro Quiros, Ryan Moore, Michael Sim
1:36 p.m./8:06 a.m.: Vijay Singh, Dustin Johnson, Davis Love III
1:47 p.m./8:17 a.m.: Ryo Ishikawa, Rory McIlroy, Tom Watson
1:58 p.m./8:28 a.m.: Kenny Perry, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Fred Funk
2:09 p.m./8:39 a.m.: Ross Fisher, Brandt Snedeker, Louis Oosthuizen
2:20 p.m./8:50 a.m.: Daniel Summerhays, a-Scott Langley, Matthew Richardson
2:31 p.m./9:01 a.m.: Erik Compton, a-Russell Henley, Jason Allred
2:42 p.m./9:12 a.m.: Erick Justesen, Jerry Smith, a-Hudson Swafford




Loading Comments...