Wagner completes Masters qualifiers

94 players set to contest Augusta 2008 this week

Golfmasgic correspondent
Mon, 7 Apr 2008

Wagner completes Masters qualifiers

Johnson Wagner, a 28-year-old Texan, who has made only three cuts on the PGA Tour this year, gets the surprise finally invite to this year's US Masters at Augusta after winning the Shell Houston Open yesterday.

His wire-to-wire, two-stroke victory over Chad Campbell and Geoff Ogilvy made it a dream come true for Wagner, who finished 16 under par and became the 94th and last entry to take the trip down Magnolia Lane, this week for the 72nd US Masters which starts on Thursday.

The players are listed in only one category though several have qualified through several.

Masters champions: Zach Johnson, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Mike Weir, Vijay Singh, Jose Maria Olazabal, Mark O'Meara, Ben Crenshaw, Bernhard Langer, Fred Couples, Ian Woosnam, Sandy Lyle, Larry Mize, Craig Stadler, Tom Watson, Fuzzy Zoeller, Gary Player, Raymond Floyd.

Open champions (since 2002): Padraig Harrington,Todd Hamilton, Ben Curtis.

US Open champions (since 2002): Angel Cabrera, Geoff Ogilvy, Michael Campbell, Retief Goosen, Jim Furyk.

US PGA champions (since 2002): Shaun Micheel.

TPC Players Championship (since 2004): Stephen Ames.

US Amateur winner 2007: Michael Thompson.

British Amateur winner 2007: Drew Weaver.

US Mid-Amateur winner 2007: Trip Kuehne.

Top 16 players and ties from 2007 Masters (not otherwise exempt): Rory Sabbatini, Jerry Kelly, Justin Rose, Stuart Appleby, David Toms, Paul Casey, Luke Donald, Vaughn Taylor, Ian Poulter, Tim Clark.

Top eight from 2007 US Open (noe): Niclas Fasth, Bubba Watson, Nick Dougherty, Scott Verplank.

Top four from The Open 2007 (noe): Sergio Garcia, Andres Romero, Richard Green, Ernie Els.

Top four from 2007 US PGA (noe): Arron Oberholser, John Senden.

Top 30 from 2007 PGA Tour moneylist (noe): Steve Stricker, KJ Choi, Aaron Baddeley, Adam Scott, Mark Calcavecchia, Woody Austin, Hunter Mahan, Brandt Snedeker, Charles Howell III, Boo Weekley, John Rollins, Stewart Cink, Steve Flesch, Robert Allenby, Brett Wetterich, Heath Slocum.

Winners PGA Tour events that award full FedEx Cup points since the 2007 Masters: Nick Watney, Brian Batemen, Jonathan Byrd, Daniel Chopra, D.J. Trahan, J.B. Holmes, Steve Lowery, Sean O'Hair, Johnson, Wagner.

Not previously qualified from the 2007 Tour Championship: Camilo Villegas.

Top 50 players from the final 2007 world ranking: Henrik Stenson, Trevor Immelman, Lee Westwood, Toru Taniguchi, Nick O'Hern, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Shingo Katayama, Robert Karlsson, Richard Sterne, Soren Hansen, Anders Hansen.

Top 50 players from world ranking published a week before the 2008 Masters (not previously qualified): Martin Kaymer, Justin Leonard, Peter Lonard.

Special foreign invitations: Liang Wen-Chong, Prayad Marksaeng, Jeev Milka Singh.



Loading Comments...