Europe raced into a commanding 5.5-2.5 lead over the United States on day one of the Solheim Cup despite a controversial ruling benefiting World No.1 Nelly Korda.
America's Korda hits a putt for birdie on the 13th hole that settled on the right edge of the cup, but Europe's Madelene Sagstrom was penalised after she picked the ball up too early - and thus Europe lost the hole.
It wouldn't be a Solheim Cup week without a little bit of controversy...— Sky Sports Golf (@SkySportsGolf) September 4, 2021
Was the correct decision made? pic.twitter.com/SGQaJG4U0D
Korda and Ally Ewing went on to win their afternoon fourball match by one hole.
"I know what I saw but wanted confirmation and I got it," tweeted rules official Missy Jones.
"Ruling was correct and made after confirmation. Very black and white rule."
Sagstrom told Jones: "But it was never going to go in. It was not hanging on the hole. Can we get TV to look at it?"
"I personally don't agree with the decision of the ball being on the edge but I didn't follow the 10-second rule. It sucks right now because I feel like I let my team down."— Sky Sports Golf (@SkySportsGolf) September 5, 2021
Madelene Sagstrom was involved in a controversial incident during the opening day of the Solheim Cup.
Waiting Time to See If Ball Overhanging Hole Will Fall into Hole
If any part of a player’s ball overhangs the lip of the hole:
- The player is allowed a reasonable time to reach the hole and ten more seconds to wait to see whether the ball will fall into the hole.
- If the ball falls into the hole in this waiting time, the player has holed out with the previous stroke.
- If the ball does not fall into the hole in this waiting time:
- The ball is treated as being at rest.
- If the ball then falls into the hole before it is played, the player has holed out with the previous stroke, but gets one penalty stroke added to the score for the hole.
Europe won the Friday Foursomes 3.5-1.5, and drew the Afternoon Fourballs 2-2 to maintain a three-point advantage heading into the second day.