WATCH: Tree rebound golf shot goes HORRIBLY WRONG!

Well this could have gone better...

Andy Roberts's picture
Fri, 11 Dec 2020
WATCH: Tree rebound golf shot goes HORRIBLY WRONG!

So you've just sent your golf ball flying over the back of the green and you walk up to find it resting against a tree. That was the unfortunate situation facing a GolfMagic reader recently, and sadly for him, things went from bad to worse in a heartbeat. 

"Just watch you don't knock the tree down," said the playing partner, as the golfer in question stepped in to play a rebound shot off the tree and back into play.

In all fairness, it wasn't the tree he needed to watch! 

Watch what happened next in the video below: 

"Triple hit," said one of the comments in our thread to this video. 

"He'd better check it's still a two ball," said another. 

 

 

Thankfully for the golfer in question, there is now no penalty for a golf ball accidentally hitting you on the way through - like it did. 

No doubt he was already in enough pain so the thought of a one-stroke penalty would have only compounded things even more. 

11.1 - Ball in Motion Accidentally Hits Person or Outside Influence

a -  No Penalty to Any Player

If a player’s ball in motion accidentally hits any person or outside influence:

- There is no penalty to any player.

- This is true even if the ball hits the player, the opponent or any other player or any of their caddies or equipment.

Exception – Ball Played on Putting Green in Stroke Play: If the player’s ball in motion hits another ball at rest on the putting green and both balls were on the putting green before the stroke, the player gets the general penalty (two penalty strokes).

CLICK HERE TO LEARN MORE ABOUT THE RULES IN PLAY WHEN A GOLF BALL ACCIDENTALLY HITS A PERSON