Patrick Reed is being labelled a "cheater" by a huge number of golf fans on social media tonight after he was seen improving his lie in a waste bunker TWICE on the 11th hole during his third round of the Hero World Challenge.
Reed was able to ground his club in the sand because it was not a bunker, but he was not allowed to scoop away sand with his club on two occasions as it clearly improved his lie.
WATCH REED'S RULES VIOLATION BELOW...
Patrick Reed gets busted cheating at the Hero World Challenge pic.twitter.com/r25cE6zenE— Viral Sports (@NotScTop10plays) December 6, 2019
The former Masters champion spent much of the day out in front, but when the NBC Golf broadcast revisited his bogey at the 11th hole it became clear for all to see that he had committed a rules violation in the waste bunker.
You could barely see Reed's ball on the first shot, and then after two scoops of sand with his practice swings, the lie suddenly became a lot clearer.
A closer look at Patrick Reed’s two-stroke penalty during Round 3 of the Hero World Challenge. pic.twitter.com/z2aqkajnYq— PGA TOUR (@PGATOUR) December 7, 2019
The incident looked incredibly similar to the one in the same tournament back in 2015...
Reed did not report the violation as he went about his business, but he was then spoken to by PGA Tour officials to ask exactly what he was doing, and it resulted in a two-stroke penalty and a triple-bogey eight instead of a bogey-six at the 11th.
The American spoke to the media after his round, and looked completely embarrassed at what he had done, but you can check out his explanation in the video below...
Social media could not believe what they were witnessing. Here's a look at just a handful of tweets, including one from Eddie Pepperell and Thomas Bjorn...
Taking Gus and Pip to the beach in a minute. Glad I brought my clubs up with me cause after seeing @PReedGolf last night I’m gonna get some practice in... What the fuck were you thinking?!— Eddie Pepperell (@PepperellEddie) December 7, 2019
Patrick Reed not doing anything illegal pic.twitter.com/pnTn4t4MIz— Greencard Ginge (@gcginge) December 6, 2019
I can’t believe Patrick Reed just cheated twice. Every golf pro in the world knows that rule. Unbelievable— Mike Belbin (@jjtr4) December 6, 2019
Patrick Reed should be DQ'd. That was disgusting— Nick Miller (@TheMillsap10) December 6, 2019
Patrick Reed should be disqualified. What a scum bag— Kevin Besserer (@krbesserer) December 6, 2019
And this is why no one likes Patrick Reed. Unbelievable https://t.co/4uyXCgEI5C— Sam Parrott (@SamParrott1) December 6, 2019
I mean......that’s like not even near the top 10 of worst things Patrick Reed has done— [insert name here] (@b_dimugno) December 6, 2019
Patrick Reed needs to be off the President’s Cup team.— Beau Wilson (@BeauAWilson) December 6, 2019
Reed did birdie the final hole but it resulted in a round of 2-over 74 instead of 72 and he will start the final round three strokes behind on 10-under par.
Gary Woodland hit the front with a birdie at the final hole to move to 13-under par, one stroke ahead of Henrik Stenson.
Tiger Woods carded another solid round of 67 to progress to 11-under par alongside defending champion Jon Rahm and Justin Thomas.