Major winner calls for golf rule re-think after US Open controversy
Former PGA Championship winner turned Sky Sports analyst Rich Beem reckons it is time to reconsider golf's rules after what happened to Sam Burns at the US Open.
Former PGA Championship winner Rich Beem reckons it is time for the powers that be to rethink of golf's rules after Sam Burns' hopes of lifting the US Open trophy were derailed by a 'controversial' decision.
Burns held the 54-hole lead at Oakmont but came unstuck after play resumed on Sunday following a 96-minute weather delay.
At the time play was halted, Burns was narrowly holding onto a one-shot lead over former Masters champion Adam Scott.
That changed, though, after he left the 15th hole with a double bogey six etched onto his scorecard and he was never able to recover.
Burns ultimately finished bogey-birdie-bogey down the stretch to card a 78 and finish in a tie for seventh.
What happened?
Burns' 297-yard tee shot just about hung onto the right edge of the 15th fairway.
When he arrived, he was greeted by a soggy lie and as he took multiple practice swings water splashed into the air at impact.
Burns, and the Sky Sports Golf commentary team, agreed that it was fair for the golfer to ask for free relief due to standing water.
The American was denied and was rejected again after he asked for a second opinion.
Burns played his shot, fatted it 198 yards into the rough and made hot mics made it perfectly clear how he felt.
"That's ridiculous," he told his caddie, although he was much more diplomatic about what transpired later.
Rich Beem calls for golf rule change
The aforementioned Beem, who won the 2002 PGA Championship, took to X on Tuesday with a question for the United States Golf Association:
Question: If a lefty had to stand where Burns golf ball was, as their ball would be in the fairway, would they have gotten relief @usga? Maybe rethink that rule?
— Rich Beem (@beemerpga) June 16, 2025
What did Sam Burns say?
Burns told reporters that he would leave Oakmont with his head held high despite the disappointment of not converting his first 54-hole lead in a major championship.
Asked specifically about the ruling, he said: "When I walked into it, clearly you could see water coming up. Took practice swings and it’s just water splashing every single time.
"Called a rules official over, they disagreed. I looked at it again. I thought maybe I should get a second opinion. That rules official also disagreed.
"At the end of the day, it’s not up to me, it’s up to the rules official. That’s kind of that."
His playing partner, Scott, also leapt to his defence by describing the lie as 'borderline unplayable'.
"It's a tough call," the Australian added.
Why did Sam Burns not get free relief?
This is all covered in Rule 16.1.
Whilst the optics didn't look great and a video by golf reporter Kyle Porter spread like wildfire on social media, the devil is in the detail.
The rule describes temporary water as 'an accumulation of water on the surface of the ground'.
It further states that it needs to be seen before or after the player takes a stance.
This is where Burns just hit on 15. pic.twitter.com/DaA0JyX1nQ
— Kyle Porter (@KylePorterNS) June 15, 2025
What Porter's video clearly demonstrates is that he uses quite a lot of pressure.
The rule states: "It is not enough for the ground to be merely wet, muddy or soft or for the water to be momentarily visible as the player steps on the ground; an accumulation of water must remain present either before or after the stance is taken."
The rule also states that dew and frost are not temporary water.