Danny Willett and Joey Barton win unique Callaway event

Masters champion and Rangers midfielder win golf & football event at Ibrox

Andy Roberts's picture
Tue, 12 Jul 2016

Masters champion Danny Willett and new Rangers signing Joey Barton kicked off Open week in style by landing Callaway's unique golf and football event at Ibrox Stadium last night.

A total of 10 teams, each featuring a Callaway staff player and Rangers player or coach, competed in a nearest the pin challenge and penalty shootout.

Each player had two shots in the nearest the pin challenge, which consisted of a 118-yard pitch from the director's box into the centre circle with a points system around the hole, while the penalty shootout took place on the hallowed turf. 

Danny Willett and Joey Barton win unique Callaway event

Willett and six-handicapper Barton ran out the overall winners by just five points, all thanks to Willett converting one of his two penalties and Barton netting both of his. 

Adding to the unique occasion, Callaway created one-off red, white and blue Rangers versions of its popular Chrome Soft golf balls, and special footballs featuring the company’s revolutionary Truvis technology.

Danny Willett and Joey Barton win unique Callaway event

"You could say the pitch shot got me ready for Troon’s famous ‘Postage Stamp’ eighth – almost exactly the same distance," said Willett.

"It was great fun to partner Joey, even though I’m a Liverpool fan!"

Barton said: "As a huge golf fan, it's a privilege for me to be paired with Danny Willett. I've followed his rise to become current Masters Champion closely. He is a superb example of what can be achieved with hard work, good daily habits and total inner belief."

Other highlights on the night included Henrik Stenson performing a Simone Zaza-style penalty and lifelong Rangers fan Marc Warren shanking his wedge. 

Danny Willett and Joey Barton win unique Callaway event

Callaway staff players and Rangers players:

TEAM WILLETT: Danny Willett / Joey Barton
TEAM STENSON: Henrik Stenson / Kenny Miller
TEAM WARREN: Marc Warren / John Brown
TEAM GRACE: Branden Grace / Jim Stewart
TEAM PIETERS: Thomas Pieters / Tom Walsh
TEAM BROBERG: Kristoffer Broberg / Josh Windass
TEAM MORRISON: James Morrison / Martyn Waghorn
TEAM APHIBARNRAT: Kiradech Aphibarnrat / Ryan Hardie
TEAM PORTEOUS: Haydn Porteous / Mark Warburton
TEAM NOREN: Alex Noren / David Weir