A golfer sent in a rules query to our friends over at Golf Rules Questions on Instagram this week, and it involved the subject of whether THIS tee shot above should count as a hole-in-one or not?
Unfortunately for our golfer in question, it DOES NOT count as an ace for the following reasons:
Cred @gerrybower Is this ball considered holed? ANSWER . . . Breaking a Club Rules Newsletter (Link in my bio) . . . Answer: No, as no part of the ball is below the level of the ground within the circumference of the hole. Therefore the player can either: A. Play it as it lies, B. Remove the flagstick, and play it as it lies, C. Remove the flagstick and if the ball moves, replace the ball on the lip, and continue play. Rule 13.2c and Definition ‘holed’.
"No this does not count as a hole-in-one because no part of the ball is below the level of the ground within the circumference of the hole," says Golf Rules Questions.
"Therefore the player can either: a) play it as it lies; b) remove the flagstick and play it as it lies; c) remove the flagstick and if the ball moves, replace the ball on the lip, and continue play.
"This falls under Rule 13.2c and Definition 'holed'."
We had this clarified with GolfMagic's resident rules official Ashley Weller, who said: "It doesn't look like any part of the ball is in the hole below the level of the putting green, so it cannot be considered as being holed.
"If the ball falls in the hole when the flagstick is removed (or it moves anywhere else), there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced on the lip of the hole."
What do you make of this rule? We bet a number of you would still consider this as a hole-in-one in your round with mates! Share your comments and hole-in-one stories with us over on our social media channels.