An old video of recent PGA Tour winner Hudson Swafford has sparked a rules debate on Twitter amongst golf fans.
Hudson won his second PGA Tour title at the Corales Puntacana and Club Championship, a victory that now means the 33-year-old has invitations to the Sentry Tournament of Champions and the 2021 Masters Tournament, as well as next year's Players Championship and PGA Championship.
It's arguably the biggest moment of Hudson's golf career so far, given that his first win was at the 2017 CareerBuilder Challenge and he has suffered setbacks through injury ever since.
The World No.345 underwent surgery last July after a foot injury had been causing Swafford issues for over a year, so to be back in the winner's circle clearly meant a great deal to him.
With Swafford being the man of the moment, the PGA Tour official Twitter account decided to post a video of Swafford from a few years back along with the caption "if Monday were a golf shot."
In the old clip, Swafford is taking a practice shot behind his ball and as he takes a chunk of turf out of the ground (most likely by accident) the piece of grass jumps forward and hits his ball.
Watch the shot in the video below:
If Monday were a golf shot ... pic.twitter.com/GSfolu9QBW— PGA TOUR (@PGATOUR) September 28, 2020
"Really?" says Swafford, as he and his caddie both look around in utter disbelief as to what had just happened.
I'm sure the PGA Tour Twitter admin didn't expect the video to get the reaction that it did, as hundreds of golf fans started commenting and a rules debate began to take off.
Many fans believed there was no issue and thought Swafford would be able to replace his ball with no penalty (relating back to Zach Johnson at the 2019 Masters), but that rule doesn't apply on the fairways and did cost Swafford a shot.
As well as golf fans debating about the rules, some were firing at Swafford for taking a chunk of grass with his practice swing in the first place.
I’m seeing a lot of wrong rulings under this post! Rule 9.4 - he caused his Ball to move whether intentional or not, he gets a general penalty (2 shots). Only exceptions to this rule are:— KingSed (@The_King_Sed) September 28, 2020
1) looking for you ball
2) taking relief
3) if you’re on the putting green
That rule only works on the tee box!— Michael Boaz (@STLpropCaddie) September 28, 2020
I mean if you aren't taking the same divot during your practice swing that you're taking during the shot what's the point of practicing a bladed shot? That's why I don't take full practice swings on most shots anymore.— (@DahlingerD) September 28, 2020
The majority of professional golfers who take practice swings do it behind the ball and then walk into their shot.— The Continental (@CTLRB) September 29, 2020
So who does that? The really good players, that’s who.
These comments are hilarious with 10 plus handicaps giving pros tips on practice swings— Golf Clay (@flippabird_) September 28, 2020
The guy just won the biggest tournament of his life I'd assume, as he battled thru injuries, and was close to losing his card.— Monday Q Info (@acaseofthegolf1) September 28, 2020
So... If Monday were a golf shot, they end with pictures like this. pic.twitter.com/8g9p9zxYrf