WATCH: Phil Mickelson takes 2-shot penalty for hitting a moving golf ball!

Mickelson is having a birthday to forget on Saturday at Shinnecock Hills. 

Andy Roberts's picture
Sat, 16 Jun 2018
0

Phil Mickelson was assessed a two-stroke penalty for hitting a moving ball at the 13th hole during the third round of the US Open at Shinnecock Hills. 

 

Mickelson was faced with a 12-foot bogey putt and after sending it well past the hole, Lefty ran to his ball to hit it again before it went down the slope. After the two-stroke penalty was handed out, it ended up going down on the scorecard as a 10...

 

 

"It's my understanding of the rules, and I thought about doing it before. I just wanted to take the two-stroke penalty," said Mickelson in an interview with Curtis Strange after his round.

"If somebody is offended by that, I apologise to them, but toughen up, because this is not meant that way. I just wanted to get on to the next hole, and I didn’t see that happening at the time. I’d gladly take my two strokes and move on."

Paul Azinger said: “That’s the most out of character I’ve ever seen Phil Mickelson. He just snapped.”

Mickelson went on to shoot a round of 81 and sits third last of those that made the halfway cut on 17-over par. 

 

Comments

Loading Comments...