WATCH: Rahm escapes penalty for replacing his ball in wrong spot

What do you make of this?

Andy Roberts's picture
Sun, 9 Jul 2017

jon rahm avoids penalty for replacing his ball in the wrong spot

 

Jon Rahm may have ran away with the Irish Open at Portstewart but he was somewhat fortunate to avoid a penalty for replacing his ball in the wrong spot on the sixth green - much to the shock of many on social media.

Within inches of the cup, Rahm's ball was right on playing partner Daniel Im's ball mark and so he had to mark his golf ball to the side to allow the American room to putt out.  

WATCH: RAHM SLAMS PUTTER DOWN ON GREEN AT IRISH OPEN

Upon letting Im finish, Rahm moved his mark back in the correct place but placed his ball in front of the marker rather than to the side.

European Tour rules official Andy McPhee spoke to Rahm walking down the 13th hole and then eventually cleared him of any wrongdoing. 

Given Lexi Thompson did something similar when going on to lose a major championship recently, Rahm would appear to have been let off the hook - but not in the eyes of McPhee.

"The difference is not quite so stark to the Lexi Thompson incident," said McPhee.

What do you make of the decision? 

 

Jon Rahm avoids a penalty for doing this on the sixth green. The right decision? A post shared by GolfMagic.com (@golfmagic.com_) on Jul 9, 2017 at 7:56am PDT

 

Here's what McPhee said of the incident...

 

Andy McPhee on Jon Rahm not being docked a shot for replacing his ball in the wrong spot: "Jon has made a reasonable judgement here." A post shared by GolfMagic.com (@golfmagic.com_) on Jul 9, 2017 at 8:16am PDT