There is a written rule in golf that if you accidentally knock your golf ball off the tee, you get to re-tee your ball. Rule 6.2b (5) is usually only something us amateur hacks ever have to worry about... or if you are two-time major winner Zach Johnson.
For the second time in three years, Johnson accidentally struck his golf ball unintentionally while on the tee.
Johnson stepped into his tee shot at the driveable par-4 17th on day two at the WM Phoenix Open today but was then put off by someone in the crowd so he backed off.
As he was backing off, he waggled his club by the ball and knocked his ball off the tee peg.
WATCH WHAT HAPPENED HERE
HE DID IT AGAIN!! pic.twitter.com/PGwyf4xzbH— Rick Gehman (@RickRunGood) February 11, 2022
Johnson incredibly did something very similar at the 2019 Masters - WATCH HERE
The rule in question here is Rule 6.2b (5), which states:
Ball Is Not in Play Until Stroke Is Made. Whether the ball is teed or on the ground, when starting a hole or playing again from the teeing area under a Rule:
- The ball is not in play until the player makes a stroke at it, and
- The ball may be lifted or moved without penalty before the stroke is made.
If a teed ball falls off the tee or is knocked off the tee by the player before the player has made a stroke at it, it may be re-teed anywhere in the teeing area without penalty.
But if the player makes a stroke at that ball while it is falling or after it has fallen off, there is no penalty, the stroke counts and the ball is in play.
If you accidentally hit your ball during a practice swing on the putting green, under Rule 13.1d (1) you are able to replace it wihout a penalty, but remember, anywhere else on the course - fairways, bunkers etc - whether you meant to hit your ball or not, it's going to cost you a shot.