PGA Tour fans question whether Wyndham Clark 'cheated' in rough at Pebble Beach

Number of golf fans up in arms over what Wyndham Clark was doing in the rough on 16 en route to his record round at Pebble Beach.

PGA Tour fans question whether Wyndham Clark 'cheated' in rough at Pebble Beach
PGA Tour fans question whether Wyndham Clark 'cheated' in rough at Pebble…

A number of PGA Tour fans have rushed to social media to question whether Wyndham Clark 'cheated' in the rough en route to firing the lowest-ever round in Pebble Beach history in the third round of the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am.

Clark's career low round of 60 will unfortunately not be counted as an official record at the famed Californian course as a result of preferred lies in place. 

While it was unquestionably a fantastic round of golf, there were plenty of fans who were up in arms over his actions on the par-4 16th. 

Clark pulled his tee shot into the deep rough down the left flank and his ball ended up in a horrendous lie. 

PGA Tour fans question whether Wyndham Clark 'cheated' in rough at Pebble Beach

The CBS cameras clearly showed Clark's ball took one bounce before diving into the rough, so that cleared up any confusion over whether he was able to take a free drop for an embedded ball. 

Clark, however, was able to take a fortunate free drop due to a large burrowing animal hole located right next to his golf ball. 

According to PGA Tour rules official Mark Dusbabek, "with a burrowing animal hole - or the remnants of the burrowing animal hole - it does count not only for the lie of the ball but your area for intended swing."

He continued: "So finding your nearest point of relief and then your one club length can really be an advantage for your situation."

Clark certainly took advantage of the situation, but some golf fans think he went a step too far. 

As Clark was contemplating where to best drop his golf ball from knee height, eagle-eyed golf fans took aim at Clark's footsteps prior to the drop. 

One golf fan posted on Twitter: "Clark blatantly trod down the area he wanted to drop the ball onto... twice. How’s no one spotting that?"

"Tricks of the trade," commented another.

"Cheat," wrote another frustrated fan. 

The rule some fans considered Clark had broken here was Rule 8.1: Your Actions That Improve Conditions Affecting Your Stroke.

It marked the second time in the space of a week where golf fans have questioned a player's actions in the rough

Last week, fans took aim at Matthieu Pavon's footwork in the rough en route to his maiden PGA Tour title. 

Clark ended up taking his drop, with a PGA Tour rules official watching his every move, and he fortunately got a peach of a lie.

From a golf ball that was plunged deep into the rough, and likely going to be a hack out from there, Clark was able to get clean contact behind the ball. 

He played a solid iron shot to within 20 feet of the cup, but came up shy with the birdie attempt as he went in search of a round of 59.

Clark would two-putt for birdie on the par-5 18th to record a stunning round of 60. 

He now leads by one shot over Ludvig Aberg on 17-under par, and could even be handed the title as a result of bad weather on Sunday and Monday.

Should Clark win the tournament, he will receive a first-prize cheque for $3.6m.

The AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am marks the first 'full field' signature event of the PGA Tour season with a prize purse of $20m

After the round Clark threw shade at LIV Golf's Joaquin Niemann, who shot a magic 59 just 24 hours before him at Mayakoba. 

What do you make of Clark's free drop and fancy footwork in the rough on 16? Share your thoughts and comments over on the GolfMagic social media channels.

Take me to more golf news!

Sponsored Posts