LPGA star has a NIGHTMARE in the water, but what ruling followed?

An old video from the LPGA Tour was used on the popular Golf Rules Questions Instagram page.

Jack Seddon's picture
Wed, 14 Apr 2021

LPGA star has a NIGHTMARE in the water, but what ruling followed?

A few months ago, a video started circulating on social media of an LPGA player having a bit of a nightmare after making the effort to play a shot whilst standing in the water and now we know what her options were after the shocking attempt.

Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't have even bothered attempting the shot and it took some guts to give it a go, but it's safe to say it really didn't pay off.

Going to all that effort to attempt such a difficult shot took a lot of courage, but there's no doubt the LPGA Tour star was full of instant regret after sending her ball straight into the water.

A lot of golf fans (myself included) did have a good laugh after seeing this video for the first time and it's now been used on the popular Instagram page Golf Rules Questions, where we now have a better understanding of the multiple options the player had available after the shot.

WATCH THE NIGHTMARE SHOT IN THE WATER BELOW:

"The player has hit their ball from inside the Red Penalty Area to inside the same Red Penalty Area. What are the player’s options?" read the caption on Instagram.

This rules scenario in particular had multiple answers as the player in question had a lot of options to choose from.

- The player can play their ball as it lies.

- Rule 17.1d(1) - stroke-and-distance - Go back to their last spot played from inside the penalty area for a one stroke penalty

- Rule 17.1d(2) - use the estimated point where the ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area and drop a ball within a club-length of a reference point, outside the penalty area and no nearer the hole, on a line from the flagstick through that estimated point for a one stroke penalty as far back behind the penalty area as the player wishes.

- Rule 17.1d(3) - (because it is a Red Penalty Area), drop a ball within two club-lengths, outside the penalty area and no nearer the hole, of the estimated point where the ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area, for a one stroke penalty.

- Rule 17.2a(2) - stroke-and-distance - Go back to their last spot played from outside the penalty area for a one stroke penalty.
- if the player drops their ball inside the penalty under Rule 17.1d(1), they can still use one of the other options for another penalty of one stroke.

- the estimated point of the last crossed edge may have changed IF the ball flew outside the penalty area before returning into the penalty area.

NEXT PAGE: Kevin Kisner set to make HUGE equipment change on the PGA Tour

 

Comments

Loading Comments...