7 - Testing your lie

You think you're up-to-date with all the golf rules? Then check out our top ten to see if you are

Ed Greenland's picture
Sat, 26 Oct 2013

7 - Testing your lie
7. Testing your lie

Rule (13-5): A player cannot test the condition of the hazard or any similar hazard.

Thoughts: Famously, Stewart Cink was penalised two strokes after he played a shot where his feet where inside the bunker and his ball and club were outside of it. Before he took the shot, his caddie raked the bunker to give him a more even base but this is exactly why he was penalised. Raking a bunker before standing in it is deemed as 'testing' it. I think it's a silly rule that needs to be revised.

Next up, taking advice from your competitor...