TaylorMade M5 Driver 2019: First Look Review

The brand new TaylorMade M5 driver for 2019!

Our score:
Overall: 
4.5
TaylorMade M5 Driver 2019

Need To Know

Serious distance, Advanced technology
Premium price tag
PRICE: £449.00 YEAR: from 2019
Category: 
Current
first look
Editor's pick: 
picked
Performance: 
4.5
Quality: 
5
Value: 
4

Editor Review

Add your review!

TaylorMade M5 Driver 2019: First Look Review
Submitted by Jack Seddon on Wed, 02 Jan 2019

TaylorMade M5 Driver 2019: First Look Review

The wait is over! TaylorMade has launched its new range for 2019 and invited GolfMagic to its HQ in sunny California to take a look. Here's our first look video on the brand new TaylorMade M5 driver...

 

When we first heard about the new Speed Injected Twist Face technology at the TaylorMade launch, we were instantly gripped to the new M5 driver. The fact that every single M5 clubhead is finely tuned to the legal speed limit, giving everyone a hot and fast driver, is an incredible achievement from TaylorMade.

From first inspection, we really like the look of the M5 driver. It's packed full of technology but TaylorMade hasn't overcomplicated the design of the head, which is becoming a common occurrence in the industry. It looks sleek, modern and appealing to hit, with the head being the perfect size in our opinion.

 

TaylorMade M5 Driver 2019: First Look Review

We were able to test out the new M5 driver at The Kingdom in California, where the likes of Dustin Johnson, Rory McIlroy and Jon Rahm go to get fitted for their clubs. The ball speed being produced with the M5 was noticeable straight away. While we will have more data available for you soon, we can assure you this driver is seriously long. If you're looking to get some extra yards out of a new driver in 2019, then look no further than the M5.

TaylorMade M5 Driver 2019: First Look Review

 

 

The inverted T-Track makes it so easy to adjust the driver to your desired shot shape, or to fight against a shape you're trying to leave behind. Fading the ball too much? No problem. Use the T-Track to adjust the weights to the draw setting and you'll see a straighter shot shape instantly.

TaylorMade M5 Driver 2019: First Look Review

With an RRP of £449, it's a big investment, but so are most golf clubs these days. If you're looking for a driver that combines serious distance, with the option to adjust weight settings, the new TaylorMade M5 driver should be top of your list. The M5 driver is available in 9°, 10.5° and 12° lofts and an M5 Tour version is also available with a slightly smaller head.

The TaylorMade M5 driver is available for preorder on January 14 and available in retail February 15 (M5 Tour available March 1). Stay tuned for our full testing review coming soon!

Rating
Performance
90
Quality
100
Value
80
Overall
90
Please login or create an account to post your review!