Rory McIlroy makes big DP World Tour commitment

Rory McIlroy has confirmed he defend his title at the Hero Dubai Desert Classic next January on the European-based DP World Tour.

Rory McIlroy makes big DP World Tour commitment

Rory McIlroy has confirmed he will defend his title at the Hero Dubai Desert Classic next January. 

McIlroy, who also won the tournament in 2009 and 2015, will attempt to become the first golfer to win the title four times on the DP World Tour. 

The Northern Irishman held off Patrick Reed by a single shot at Emirates Golf Club earlier in the year. 

It was the very same tournament that saw McIlroy and the American involved in exchange on the driving range that blew up well out of proportion. 

Reed, 33, walked over to greet the Ulsterman but the four-time major champ seemed more concerned at setting up his launch monitor.

McIlroy later insisted he was well within his rights to blank Reed because he was served notice of a subpoena by the American's lawyer Larry Klayman on Christmas Eve. 

It was part of Klayman's antitrust litigation against the PGA Tour

He was unaware Reed lightly tossed a LIV Golf-branded 4Aces tee in his direction but later explained his stance.  

McIlroy previously said: "Patrick came up to say hello and I didn't really want him to.

"From my recollection, that was it. I didn't see a tee. I didn't feel a tee. Obviously someone else saw that. But it's definitely a storm in a teacup. I can't believe it's actually turned into a story, it's nothing.

"I was subpoenaed by his lawyer on Christmas Eve. Trying to have a nice time with my family and someone shows up on your doorstep and delivers that, you're not going to take that well.

"I'm living in reality, I don't know where he's living. If I were in his shoes, I wouldn't expect a hello or a handshake." 

McIlroy is the reigning Race to Dubai champion. It is an honour he has won four times and he is hoping to land a fifth over 16-19 November at the season-ending DP World Tour Championship at Jumeirah Golf Estates. 

Speaking to the official DP World Tour website over his commitment to the Hero Dubai Desert Classic, McIlroy said: "It meant a lot to lift the Dallah trophy for a third time. I've enjoyed a lot of success at the Hero Dubai Desert Classic over the years, so adding another title was the perfect way to start the year.

"I love coming to Dubai and the support we get from fans is always special. I look forward to getting back to Emirates Golf Club in January, and hopefully creating a bit of history."

Previous winners of the tournament include Seve Ballesteros (1992), Ernie Els (1994, 02, 05), Fred Couples (1995), José Maria Olazábal (1998), Mark O'Meara (2004), Tiger Woods (2006, 08), Henrik Stenson (2007), Danny Willett (2016), Sergio Garcia (2017) and Bryson DeChambeau (2019). 

Read more:

Sponsored Posts