The six golfers to have won the same major THREE consecutive times...

Brooks Koepka is bidding to do something this week that not even Jack Nicklaus or Tiger Woods have ever done in the majors...

The six golfers to have won the same major THREE consecutive times
The six golfers to have won the same major THREE consecutive times

Brooks Koepka has the chance to join six other golfers in the record books by winning the same major three consecutive times when he tees up in this week's US PGA Championship at TPC Harding Park.

Koepka won his first US PGA by two strokes over Tiger Woods at Bellerive Country Club in 2018, and then followed it up with another two-stroke victory over Dustin Johnson at Bethpage Black in 2019.

The six golfers to have won the same major THREE consecutive times...

The big-hitting American had the chance to win three consecutive majors at the 2019 US Open at Pebble Beach, but after a brave effort agonisingly finished three strokes back in second behind Gary Woodland. 

Koepka, 30, heads to TPC Harding Park in excellent form having gone to close to winning last week's WGC-FedEx St Jude Invitational, only to double-bogey the final hole and finish three strokes behind Justin Thomas in a tie for second. 


While six golfers in the history of the game have won the same major three consecutive times, incredibly the feat was never achieved by Jack Nicklaus, or to date by Tiger Woods.

Let's take a closer look at the six golfers who have won the same major at least three times in a row...



#1 - YOUNG TOM MORRIS - THE OPEN (1868-72)

Scotland's Young Tom Morris won The Open three times in a row at Prestwick from 1868 to 1870, and after a year without the staging of the tournament due to a lack of a trophy in 1871, Morris Jnr duly went on to win it for a fourth consecutive time at Prestwick in 1872. 

#2 - JAMIE ANDERSON - THE OPEN (1877-79)

Jamie Anderson of Scotland won the 1877 Open at Musselburgh by two strokes before following it up with another two-stroke win at Prestwick a year later. He then completed the consecutive hat-trick with a three-stroke victory at the Home of Golf, St Andrews. 

#3 - BOB FERGUSON - THE OPEN (1880-82)

Scotland's Bob Ferguson followed up the feat of Jamie Anderson with three straight victories in The Open immediately afterwards, and also on the same three courses at Musselburgh, Prestwick and St Andrews. 



#4 - WILLIE ANDERSON - US OPEN (1903-05)

Willie Anderson, once again of Scotland, became the first golfer to win three consecutive US Open titles in 1905. His first came in 1903 with a playoff victory over compatriot David Brown at Baltusrol, and he then followed it up with wins at Glens View a year later before going on to win at Myopia. 

#5 - WALTER HAGEN (1924-27)

Walter Hagen of the United States won four straight US PGA Championships from 1924 through to 1927, but this was when the tournament was a match play format. He would go on to win 11 majors in his career (third in all-time major wins), but he never won The Masters. 

#6 - PETER THOMSON (1954-56)

Peter Thomson was the last golfer to win three majors in a row when he performed the feat at The Open in 1956. The talented Australian won at Royal Birkdale by one stroke in 1954, before going on to win by two strokes at St Andrews in 1955 and three strokes at Royal Liverpool in 1956. Thomson won all five of his career majors at The Open, with his other two wins there coming at Royal Lytham & St Annes in 1958 and at Royal Birkdale again in 1965. 

Sponsored Posts