Thomas Detry signs for a WRONG SCORECARD to be DQ'D from BMW PGA Championship

Detry's debut Ryder Cup hopes over after he gets disqualified from the BMW PGA Championship due to signing for a wrong scorecard at Wentworth.

Andy Roberts's picture
Sat, 11 Sep 2021

Thomas Detry signs for a WRONG SCORECARD to be DQ'D from BMW PGA Championship

Thomas Detry signed for a wrong scorecard on day two and was consequently disqualified from the BMW PGA Championship.

It now ends any chance Detry had of making the European Ryder Cup team for the first time in his career.

Despite remaining winless on the European Tour in his career, the 28-year-old Belgian was lying 11th in the European Points List and 18th in the World Points List ahead of this week's final counting event in the race to make the European Ryder Cup team.

Detry would have forced his way into the team - pending other results - had he landed his maiden European Tour title at the BMW PGA Championship, and he was in a prominent position to do so having progressed to 5-under par after two rounds. 

However, Detry was left to rue signing for a wrong scorecard and it led to being DQ'd from the tournament under Rule 3.3b. 

 

 

Captain Padraig Harrington will be making his three captain picks following the conclusion of play at Wentworth on Sunday evening. 

But Detry will unlikely have any say in the picks given he is still searching for his first individual win on the main circuit.

He did come close to shedding the maiden tag with a pair of runner-up finishes at the European Open and Scottish Open in June and July

Detry did partner compatriot Thomas Pieters to win the World Cup of Golf but that was back in 2018. 

NEXT PAGE: FRANCESCO LAPORTA LEADS THE BMW PGA CHAMPIONSHIP AS BERND WIESBERGER PLAYS HIS WAY INTO THE RYDER CUP TEAM