Woosie penalised in dramatic start

Two shot penalty for too many clubs in his bag

Golfmagic correspondent
Sun, 22 Jul 2001

Woosie penalised in dramatic start

Drama hit the fourth round of the Open at Lytham when overnight leader Ian Woosnam suffered a two shot penalty on the second tee.

Six under par overnight he fired his tee shot at the par-3 first hole to within inches of the cup for a tap-in birdie and a share of the lead with Niclas Fasth of Sweden.

As he walked to the second tee, chief referee John Paramor noticed 15 clubs in his bag - one more than the legal limit.

The Rules state that for every hole played with an extra club a player is penalised two shots.

So as Woosnam hurled his 3-wood to the ground as he was advised his score was now -5 instead of -7.

The atmosphere was tense as he strode up the second fairway muttering to his caddie - " I give you a job to do and you can't do it."