Matthew Wolff makes EMBARRASSING mistake before withdrawing from WGC event

Wolff shot an 11-over par opening round on Thursday and did something that even an amateur golfer would find embarrassing...

Jack Seddon's picture
Fri, 26 Feb 2021
Matthew Wolff makes EMBARRASSING mistake before withdrawing from WGC event

It was a day to forget for Matthew Wolff on Thursday, after he shot a painful 11-over par opening round at the WGC-Workday Championship, before withdrawing from the tournament, but his mistake at the par-3 16th will be something he never wants to see again.

The Concession was proving a tough task for many of the world's best, with World No.1 Dustin Johnson shooting 5-over par and Bryson DeChambeau matching that score.

Wolff's scorecard on Thursday was quite the mess, with a mixture of pars, birdies, bogeys, double-bogeys, triple-bogeys and yes, even a quadruple-bogey which came at the par-4 15th (his 6th hole).

The worst part is, the quadruple bogey wasn't even the most embarrassing moment of the 22-year-old's disappointing round. At the par-3 6th hole - Wolff's 15th - the American was lining up a rare birdie chance from 15 feet. Wolff took a few practice putts next to his ball, but on his third pass his putter clipped the ball and it rolled away at a 90-degree angle.


I'm sure at that point Wolff wished the ground would just swallow him up, but there was a little bit of light at the end of the tunnel, as due to a rule change in 2019, Wolff was able to replace his ball and take the putt without a penalty, as he hit his ball by accident.

Unfortunately, that little bit of light quickly disappeared when he then three-putted from his original spot and added another bogey to his scorecard.

Due to this week's tournament being a WGC event, there is no cut line and as Wolff withdrew after officially starting the tournament, he still finishes last and will take home $32,000. Not bad, right?

NEXT PAGE: Rory McIlroy left feeling FRUSTRATED by missed putts at WGC-Workday Championship