LPGA drama as player gets DQ'd after hitting golf ball moved from OB!

Doris Chen DQ'd from LPGA Q-Series event after wrongly playing a ball that her mother had moved! 

Andy Roberts's picture
Sun, 4 Nov 2018
0

Lady golfer Doris Chen was dramatically disqualified from the LPGA’s new Q-Series at Pinehurst No.7 after hitting a golf ball that had been moved by her mother from the OB posts. 


 

Competing in the seventh round of the Q-Series, the 2014 NCAA champion and former USGA champion sent her drive down the left side of the 17th hole and headed out of bounds.

However, the golf ball was then moved back in bounds by an outside agency, Chen's mother! 


 

Chen, 25, was quickly made aware that her ball had been moved, but she elected to play the ball, which was the wrong ball by definition, from its altered lie. Since Chen did not correct her error before teeing off on the 18th hole, she was disqualified under Rule 15-3b.

When asked if any further action would be taken against Chen, an LPGA official said such matters are kept between the player and tour.

Chen advanced to the Q-Series after finishing tied 24th at Stage II. 

The 2010 US Girls Junior champion made just $643 on the Symetra Tour in 12 starts in 2018.

 

Comments

Loading Comments...