Phil Mickelson rips into USGA boss over Talor Gooch call: "Just a d**k move!"

LIV Golf's Phil Mickelson has labelled Mike Whan's decision to remove Talor Gooch from the US Open as a "d**k move". 

Andy Roberts's picture
Fri, 5 May 2023
Phil Mickelson goes on X-RATED rant at USGA CEO after Talor Gooch decision

LIV Golf's Phil Mickelson has labelled USGA CEO Mike Whan's decision to remove Talor Gooch from next month's US Open as a "d**k move" on Twitter. 

Last week, Gooch claimed the USGA "retroactively" changed its qualifications for the US Open, and as a result, made him no longer exempt into the tournament.

But the USGA denies such claims. 

Gooch, who has won the last two LIV Golf League tournaments, went on the 73rd Hole Podcast last month.

Related: LIV Golf's Taylor Gooch OUT of US Open with rule change: "It only affects me!"

Gooch said: 

"I was hopeful after Augusta came out and announced their field – they announced that I was in the field via my world ranking but also via qualifying for the Tour Championship. So when Augusta came out and made that decision, I was very optimistic that everybody else would follow suit." 

However, the USGA did not follow the same guidelines as The Masters, and, as a result, Gooch did not earn an automatic exemption into the year's third major championship. 

Gooch added: 

"Basically the rule now within the USGA states that you have to qualify for the Tour Championship and also be eligible to play."

Whan has since defended the USGA's stance in removing Gooch from the field. 

"Any time we make changes to our criteria going forward it impact somebody and that stinks, but we can only look forward."

Mickelson is disgusted by the USGA's decision, and he took to Twitter today to vent his frustration at Whan. 

Mickelson tweeted:

"Hey Mike,what about changing a rule and making it retroactive to exclude someone who has already qualified? How can Talor Gooch not take that personal? It’s a direct attack on him and his career. How does it benefit the USGA or US Open? It doesn’t. Just a d!*k move."

Lefty then went in again: 

"He qualified 9 months ago via Tour championship. 3 months ago Whan changed the wording on the qualifying criteria to take it away. Total d!*k move by Whan. He leads our governing body. Sad."

Where do you stand on Gooch not being eligible for the US Open? You could argue the American is the hottest player in the world right now following back-to-back wins on the LIV Golf League. Share your thoughts and comments over on the GolfMagic social media channels.