Evans &Co first up at Royal Troon

Full first and second round draw. Don't miss Gary's diary with Golfmagic at The Open.

Evans &Co first up at Royal Troon
Evans &Co first up at Royal Troon
Gary Evans - driving in first group

England’s Gary Evans, who won a place in British hearts with his gutsy finish in the 2002 Open at Muirfield, will be among the first starters in the 2004 Open at Royal Troon on Thursday.

He will be called on to the tee at 6.30am and will hit his tee shot down the opening par-4 368-yard hole seconds after Australian Peter O’Malley.

Completing the first group will be American Brad Faxon.

And you will be able to follow Gary’s progress throughout The Open in his exclusive diary for Golfmagic.com, courtesy of club-makers Olyo Golf, whose bag he carries on Tour.

Evans finished in a tie for fifth place back in 2002 – only one shot behind eventual winner Ernie Els - and earned his automatic exemption this year with a tenth place, five behind surprise winner Ben Curtis.

Despite some niggling injuries, Gary’s form has improved in recent weeks with top 25 finishes in Scotland, France and Ireland, where he now lives, and he played all four rounds in the Scottish Open at Loch Lomond.

The rest of the first round draw has thrown up some fascinating pairings with the pick of them the combination of Tiger Woods, Lee Westwood and Greg Norman at 1.42pm

Among the other early starters are local favourite Colin Montgomerie, Thomas Bjorn and Frank Lickliter at 8.58am and 61-year old Tom Weiskopf, who won here in 1973 paired with Australian Craig Parry and Scotland's Sandy Lyle.

Justin Leonard who won at Troon in 1997, gets Ernie Els and Luke Donald at 7.58 with US Masters champion Phil Mickelson playing with England’s Paul Casey, a contemporary at Arizona State University and Japan’s Shigeki Maruyama.

The full draw (second round times in brackets)

06:30 (11.41) Peter O'Malley, Gary Evans, Brad Faxon

06:41(11.52) Andrew Buckle, Mark Calcavecchia, Barry Lane

06:52 (12.03) Tom Weiskopf, Craig Parry, Sandy Lyle

07:03 (12.14) Rich Beem, Brendan Jones, Paul McGinley

07:14 (12.25) Shaun Micheel, Nick Price, Nick Flanagan

07:25 (12.36) Davis Love III, Paul Lawrie, K. J. Choi

07:36 (12.47) David Duval, Carl Pettersson, Craig Perks

07:47 (12.58) Chris DiMarco, Scott Drummond, Rodney Pampling

07:58 (13.09) Ernie Els, Justin Leonard, Luke Donald

08:09 (13.20) Mathias Gronberg, James Kingston, Skip Kendall

08:20 (13.31) Richard Green, Jonathan Kaye, Andrew Oldcorn

08:31(13.42) Phil Mickelson, Shigeki Maruyama, Paul Casey

08:42 (13.53) Chris Riley, Hidemasa Hoshino, Paul Sheehan

08:58 (14.09) Colin Montgomerie, Thomas Bjorn, Frank Lickliter

09:09 (14.20) Scott Verplank, Takashi Kamiyama, Warren Bennett

09:20 (14.31) Mathew Goggin, Graeme McDowell, Thomas Levet

09:31 (14.42) Sergio Garcia, Trevor Immelman, Charles Howell III

09:42 (14.53) Dinesh Chand, Euan Little, Kim Felton

09:53 (15.04) Bob Tway, Paul Broadhurst, Ignacio Garrido

10:04 (15.15) Padraig Harrington, Stuart Appleby, Bob Estes

10:15 (15.26) Jimmy Green, Jyoti Randhawa, Steven Tiley

10:26 (15.37) Stewart Cink, Hennie Otto, Paul Wesselingh

10:37 (15.48) Kenneth Ferrie, Andre Stolz, Martin Erlandsson

10:48 (15.59) Joakim Haeggman, Bo Van Pelt, Sean Whiffin

10:59 (16.10) Glen Day, Darren Fichardt, Paul Bradshaw

11:10 (16.21) Christian Cevaer, Klas Eriksson, Barry Hume

11:41 (06.30) Simon Dyson, Ian Poulter, S. K. Ho

11:52 (06.41) Peter Lonard, Gary Emerson, John Huston

12:03 (06.52) John Daly, Rory Sabbatini, Eduardo Romero

12:14 (07.03) Jerry Kelly, Phillip Price, Arjun Atwal

12:25 (07.14) David Howell, Aaron Baddeley, Mike Weir

12:36 (07.25) Darren Clarke, Adam Scott, Kenny Perry

12:47 (07.36) Chad Campbell, Stephen Leaney, Miles Tunnicliff

12:58 (07.47) Mark O'Meara, Stuart Wilson, Michael Campbell

13:09 (07.58) Retief Goosen, Robert Allenby, Jay Haas

13:20 (08.09) Tim Herron, Brian Davis, Tim Clark

13:31 (08.20) Tetsuji Hiratsuka, Steve Flesch, Peter Hedblom

13:42 (08.31) Tiger Woods, Lee Westwood, Greg Norman

13:53 (08.42) Scott Barr, Spike McRoy, Keiichiro Fukabori

14:09 (08.58) Vijay Singh, David Toms, Ian Spencer

14:20 (09.09) Mark Foster, Marten Olander, Jonathan Cheetham

14:31 (09.20) Yoshinobu Tsukada, Steve Lowery, Matthew Hazelden

14:42 (09.31) Ben Curtis, Nick Faldo, Jean Francois Remesy

14:53 (09.42) Anders Hansen, Adam Le Vesconte, Sven Struver

15:04 (9.53) Cameron Beckman, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Todd Hamilton

15:15 (10.04) Jim Furyk, Brian McElhinney, Fredrik Jacobson

15:26 (10.15) Zach Johnson, Louis Oosthuizen, Daniel Sugrue

15:37 (10.26) Tom Lehman, Stephen Ames, Andrew Willey

15:48 (10.37) Raphael Jacquelin, Simon Wakefield, Ben Willman

15:59 (10.48) Maarten Lafeber, Tjaart van der Walt, Lloyd Campbell

16:10 (10.59) Alastair Forsyth, Hunter Mahan, Lewis Atkinson

16:21 (11.10) Nicolas Colsaerts, Grant Muller, Anthony Millar

Sponsored Posts