Wyndham Clark blasts cheating accusations: "Camera made it look worse"

Reigning U.S. Open champion Wyndham Clark has opened up further on claims he cheated during the 2024 Arnold Palmer Invitational on the PGA Tour.

Wyndham Clark blasts cheating accusations:

Wyndham Clark has admitted his actions on the 72nd hole at the PGA Tour's Arnold Palmer Invitational 'didn't look great'. 

But the American has criticised those who claim he was deliberately playing fast and loose with the rules of golf. 

Clark recently hopped on Fox News Digital to address the subject once again days after his Players Championship heartbreak. 

The moment that got golf fans all riled up concerned Clark's actions on the 18th hole at Bay Hill. 

Clark's tee shot missed the fairway and settled in the thick and juicy rough on the right side of the hole.


He grounded his club behind the ball to check the lie and many believe the ball moved and he should have incurred a penalty. 

Protesting his innocence, Clark said: "It is unfortunate, because I had no ill intent to try to cheat or improve my lie."

The reigning U.S. Open champion said he had no idea the moment caused a stir until he got back to the scoring tent. 

He added: "You see the video, and you're like, 'Oh man, that doesn't look great'. It's unfortunate that it looks poorly, but I really had no ill intents."

"In my defence, you’re allowed to put your club down and see your lie. It is what it is, and hopefully in a few weeks it passes by.

"But I've never tried to cheat in the game of golf, and hopefully people don’t think of me that way.

"I just think the camera was zoomed in and made it look worse than it really was."

Wyndham Clark blasts cheating accusations:

The moment would've of course been more controversial had Clark gone on to win the PGA Tour event. 

In the end, world number one Scottie Scheffler solved his putting woes at the iconic venue and lapped the field with a five-stroke victory. 

As for Clark, he was accused by golf fans of more wrongdoing during the Players Championship a week later. 

Clark was in contention yet again at the unofficial fifth major at TPC Sawgrass but was pipped by Scheffler. 

In one of the most brutal moments in recent memory, Clark's birdie putt lipped out at the final hole. Had it dropped, it would've forced a playoff. 

The disappointment was evident for Clark and he couldn't believe his eyes. 

"You know, obviously there's positives in it," Clark told reporters. 

"You finish second, you get a bunch of points and money and all that stuff, but it just sucks.

"I've always wanted and dreamt about making a putt that really mattered to either force a playoff or win a tournament, and I have yet to do it in my professional career, so I was pretty bummed that I didn't have one of those really awesome moments.

"But yeah, I don't know, I'm still a little beside myself. I'm still shocked that putt didn't go in."

Read next:

Sponsored Posts