33% of GolfMagic Readers answered this Stableford Golf Score WRONG!

GolfMagic published a Stableford scorecard last week and challenged the readers to add up the correct score.

Matt Chivers's picture
Mon, 1 Nov 2021

33% of GolfMagic Readers answered this Stableford Golf Score WRONG!

Throughout your golf career, you will play in hundreds of competitions and this will be a mixture of medals and Stableford formats.

As we know, a medal is just straight stroke play, the nemesis and dread of many golfers. One bad hole can ruin your scorecard in a medal, whereas it is salvageable in a Stableford.

For our readers who have never competed in a Stableford competition below, this format follows a points system. On each hole, you get 0 points for anything worse than a bogey, 1 point for a bogey, 2 points for a par, 3 points for a birdie and so on.

You then add the number of shots that you get on each hole to these points. For example, if your handicap is 18 you get a shot on every hole and every stroke index.

RELATED: "BETTER THAN MOST": THIS TIGER WOODS IMAGE CARVED INTO A PUMPKIN IS INCREDIBLE

If you make par, you get two points for the score plus your shot, so you have got three points on that hole. It is a very popular and straightforward system that you will get used to.

GolfMagic published a scorecard last week with a score on each hole. The player's handicap is 12, so they get a shot on every hole from stroke indexes one to 12.

The answer is 39 points. The player gets 19 points on the front nine and 20 points on the back nine. And of course, the course is none other than Augusta National.

Interestingly, there were a variety of comments on all of our social media platforms. There was a majority of correct answers, but almost a third of golf fans typed in the incorrect score.

RELATED: WHICH PGA TOUR STARS HAD THE BEST HALLOWEEN FANCY DRESS?

Of course, if you play golf with your partners and you are signing your scorecards, you are able to confer with them to make sure you get the right scores.

Just remember, it is always worth double-checking and triple-checking your scores as you do not want to be on the end of a ruling issue.

 

 

NEXT PAGE: BRYSON DECHAMBEAU: I COULDN'T ENJOY THE RYDER CUP WIN AS MUCH AS I WANTED TO