GOLF RULES QUESTION:
A player chips onto the green and the ball comes to rest at the edge of a steep slope.
As the greens are quick and the wind is blowing, he runs onto the green and marks and lifts his ball before it is moved by the wind.
When it's his turn to putt he replaces his ball and while lining up his putt a gust of wind moves the ball which comes to rest 25 feet further away from the hole down the slope.
What's the ruling, as of January 1, 2019?!
As the player had already lifted and replaced the ball on the putting green there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced on the original spot (which if not known must be estimated). Exception to Rule 9.3.
You may recall Billy Horschel's moving ball incident happening on the 15th hole at the 2016 Masters, when he lifted and replaced his ball, before seeing it roll into the water hazard.
Under the existing rules he had to take Water Hazard Relief under a penalty of one stroke, and he was understandably not too happy! This rule has been changed to the above, however, as of January 1, 2019.
NEXT GOLF RULES QUESTION: WHAT HAPPENS WHEN A GOLFER DOESN'T ANNOUNCE A "PROVISIONAL"
IS YOUR GOLF CLUBS READY FOR THE NEW RULES? GOLFMAGIC'S RESIDENT PGA RULES PANEL MEMBER ASHLEY WELLER IS AVAILABLE FOR RULES EVENINGS – CHECK OUT HIS NEW WEBSITE WWW.ASHWELLERGOLF.CO.UK